Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lunasa

Buying a Salvage/Rebuilt smart?

20 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!I'm a first time poster... and hoping to be a first time smart owner soon! I'm a new grad and new resident of BC. I've been hunting for my first car and have absolutely fallen in love with the smart.I'm looking for some opinions on a used smart I have my eye on. It's a 2008 Passion coupe w/15000kms. The dealer is asking just under $8000. My spouse and I checked it out thoroughly and everything was working perfectly except for one of the headlamps. The dealer gave me the vehicle history... and it's a salvage that has been rebuilt. It was a lease at first and had an accident 1 year 3 months in. It was written off and the ownership was transferred to ICBC who auctioned it off to a dealership who then repaired it. My dealer then bought it off of that dealer. He says the front bumper was replaced and that's the extent of the rebuild... but he can't provide me with any documentation regarding the repairs since he bought the car off another dealer and didn't do the repair himself. My plan is to get a thorough inspection by a good mechanic. Reading around the forum, it seems like the lower mainland smart owners absolutely rave about Fast Eddy. I'm going to give him a call tomorrow and see if I can book an appointment for him to take a look and see what he thinks. I'd love to hear some opinions. I'm wondering if I should just walk away... Thanks in advance!

Edited by lunasa

Unknown history......not for me. Try driving one of the diesels, they are addicting :D

walk away from it. theres plenty of good smarts out there.i know here in ontario a salvage has to have pics before an after, also a list of the replacement parts. seeing the dealer dont have this paper work puts up a red flag for me.