Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jwongstedt

Used Smart to Survive Alberta Winters

7 posts in this topic

Hey everyone!

My name is Jeff, and I have been looking into purchasing a used Smart. based on my budget, I can afford either a 2005, 2006 or 2008. I do very little high way driving, but I do visit family every once and a wile out of town. I heard gas smarts are better for winter as they produce more heat that diesel engines, but I have no idea what I am really doing. I will attach links bellow with the ones I am looking at. I am a total car newbie and this will be my first vehicle. I'd really like it to be a smart, but I don't know the first thing about buying a used smart.

Any and all help would be super appreciated!

2008 Smart: http://www.kijiji.ca/v-cars-trucks/edmonton/2008-smart-fortwo-pure-extremely-low-mownthly-paymnets-apply-n/1194181109?enableSearchNavigationFlag=true

2005 Smart: http://www.kijiji.ca/v-cars-trucks/edmonton/smart-for-two-2005-passion/1197815490?enableSearchNavigationFlag=true

2006 Smart: http://www.kijiji.ca/v-cars-trucks/edmonton/2006-smart-fortwo-pure/1197343289?enableSearchNavigationFlag=true   

I am leaning towards the 2008 because I believe they have cruise control, which is super important if I visit family outside the city. Thanks everyone In advance!! I can't wait to own a smart; been a dream of mine since the first came here in Canada.

- Jeff

The third one is a wreck, don't even consider it.  The second one has high km and probably lots of issues.  Could be worth a quick look if you check all the known trouble spots.  The gas model also has mismatched panels so it too has probably been schmucked.

Welcome, none of those years came from the factory with cruise.  Aftermarket installations may have happened.  I would take a gas smart over the diesel.  For your budget and as a first car, I would advise going with something domestic that will be cheap and easy to fix

1 person likes this