Hobbitz

Cdi450 Sluggish no power. heads up

6 posts in this topic

So I picked up a 2005 silver 450cdi passion, I thought as I did back in the UK I could run veg oil with little to know issues as I am a mechanic, being bosh everything fuel system I could run 50/50 oil and derv, the car had sat for 3 years not ran at all, so new battery needed, had to drop the motor and installed recon alternator as it had seized (bought car for $1800cdn btw) so I didn't mind chucking a few bucks into it, all back together, not charging grrrrrr, pulled motor and alt again got another all good, ran her for about 3 months like this, then the problems started, pump would trip, go into limp mode,black smoke like defcon 5  then the loss of power, now it hardly idles. Anyway I pulled the injectors, and the intercooler, and the egg, all were extremely gummy and full of crud, so I cleaned the whole system out fully even the intake manifold with wire, note...I was getting some boost from the turbo also, put it all back together,, grrrr SAME as, and I noticed with foot to floor the actuator arm didn't move and I could hear the turbo trying to pump,but no more black smoke, I thought the turbo was shot exaust side as I had inspected the compressor blades, so I figured that was the issue, undone the exaust bolts snapping both of and just for the hell of it gave the exaust a bj, yep blow with my lips......volla so blocked I could hardly blow through it, the cdn model doesn't have a simple cat in the down pipe so it's blocked fully in the baffles, im gunna slice it open with a zip disk pull the guts out and see what happens, but yea for the money saved in veg oil is just not work the pain in my rear to do this every 3 months, just wanted to let you owners know this, yours David b