stickman007

DIY "no-slam" Circuit?

20 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

A few years back, Leadwing gave me a broken MDC "no-slam" module that basically opens the window ~1" when you open the door, and then close when you shut the door - therefore preventing the need to slam the door hard. I was never able to reverse engineer what they had and gave up. Lately I'm motivated to try again as I'm about to get another smart car! Rather than trying to figure out what MDC did, I wonder if we can just design our own like the EGR emulator circuit as a community.

I'm not trained in electrical engineering by any means...my degree is in Biology, but here's what I've come up with to start. Anybody wants to chime in?

windowscircuit.jpg

Edited by stickman007

Love the idea, always wanted one for a coupe.... not as needed in a cabrio from experience. Steven from smartieparts sold a couple back in the day.

AUGH......that reminds me of my old college days in electrical engineering....sorryI flunked out after they introduced AC and told my brain it couldn't use the picture of water running through a pipe, I need a mental picture  to fully get things into my concrete skull at times...lol

The idea is a simple one, it's the time your 555 timer operates to not over tighten so to speak your window...? OR will it open it and close it the same every time...?  Not a bad starting point that's for sure.

I still have two in my coupe.  Both are working just fine.  I'm not the genius who made or installed them, but they are a nice thing to have.  Included is an "express down or up" when the window button is tapped lightly.

The "one touch" feature I'm not sure how to do...almost seems easier to use an Arduino or Raspberry Pi. This way, its is even programmable or maybe bluetooth communication for updating? Rolling down windows with your phone on a hot day? Unfortunately, I don't know anything about programming either. Good project idea though...