JamesSeidel

2006 450 burning tons of oil - opinions/help!

17 posts in this topic

Hi folks!   I am a brand new owner of a 2006 450 turbo diesel - bought it for my 19 year old son who's in college.   He wanted cheap transportation home on weekends as he will be a couple of hours away.  We saw a great deal on this car for $2000.   Needs new injectors and blows lots of smoke the lady says on the phone.  We went there and looked at the motor and I could see a TON of oil leaking at the back left corner so I suspected there was more to it than this.   The smoke also wasn't black - it smelled more like oil.  We drove it around and it smoked a ton but it had normal power (my friend owns a Smart diesel so I knew what to expect) so I figured the motor and turbo were probably OK.   I'm not a mechanic but I figured we'd take a chance - she knew that injectors were $1200 each so she priced it accordingly and I didn't think it was injectors.   Tons of degreaser and we see some type of oil line that starts under/right of the oil filler cap and runs over top of the engine and disappears into the frame under the driver's seat.  The braided covering has been worn away and it is leaking from where it is rubbing the frame.   Tons of oil.  Right behind the intercooler so of course the fan has pulled tons of oil into the intercooler.   I pulled the intercooler, cleaned it, stuck it into a tub of water, plugged one side and blasted some air through a towel on the other.   Tons of bubbles right along where the plastic hits the metal between the intake and outlets.    My question...  the intercooler is supposed to be pressing air under high pressure but if it is badly cracked, does it ever create a vacuum where it could be sucking in that oil?   Maybe when you have your foot off the accelerator?  I'm thinking yes because the hose going into the EGR and coming out of the EGR is filled with gunk.  I'll take the EGR off and clean it tomorrow ….   I'm guessing I can't fix this intercooler - a