bmwmilos

Greetings from Croatia

18 posts in this topic

Greetings to all!

My name is Milos and I am from Rijeka, Croatia. I am a new owner of Smart ( well my wife to be exact ) for a couple of months. It is a 2002. City Coupe 450, 0.8 CDI, yellow/black with yellow interior ( well, dull yellow from sun exposure ). I will post photos soon. My opinion was that Smart is a way overpriced toy car,and I had my reservations before buying, but my wife wanted a Smart and that was pretty much it! Now when I got to know the car I am delighted with the purchase. Ok,it has some problems that I need to solve but the car is great. 

Some more info about me. I am an electronic technician by school, but I am a great car/mechanics lover. I lived away from the city so I drove a car very early ( 12 y.o. ) and I managed to buy one at the age of 13. I had barely money for gas so I had to learn how to repair anything that was broken. Luckily I had a neighbor who had a mechanic workshop and I "robbed" a lot of knowledge from him.

I didn't have any experience with Smart, other than occasional talk with some owner so I was a little preoccupied with potential problems, parts cost and work complexity on these cars, but fortunately I have discovered that all of my worries were unfounded. Since we bought the car I considered that the engine makes a very strange noise, but having no experience with these engines I tought it was normal, until 10 days ago I was in a vicinity of another Smart 450 CDI when it started his engine. At that time I realised I had to open my engine and check for problems because the sound was not  normal. So last week I took the car to my fathers garage and after about 2,5 hours this was the  result :

FormatFactoryIMG_20180624_140428.jpg

FormatFactoryIMG_20180624_140422.jpg