Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sydney

fix AC or not

11 posts in this topic

i live on the east coast of Nova Scotia,  where AC is not really needed.

i might just remove the AC system from my 06.  it is not charged and it looks like the belt was removed a long time ago.

i dont really want to pay to charge it, replace a belt and who knows what else.  if i dont even need it.

whats everyones thoughts on just removing the system all together.  (pump, lines and condenser)

Generally, the '05 and '06 smarts had issues with their A/C units.  They would not hold a charge.  "Most" stopped working and even though there was a recall to fix the problem, even the "fix" only lasted a few months.  Paying to have it recharged and repairing the belt would be a waste of time and money.  I AM NOT A MECHANIC, so I don't know for certain if removing the entire system altogether would have any effect on the rest of the car, but it shouldn't. :dunno: 

That said, I have two diesel smarts.  My '05 had issues with the a/c and it was sent in for the factory recall to solve the problem.  The fix lasted about 4 months.  My ;06 smart has never had the a/c serviced and works flawlessly. Go figure!

IMO, you are in an area where a/c isn't usually needed, so I wouldn't bother fixing it unless you are planning on moving to a much warmer area.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I use Duracool or Red Tek as a refrigerant in my smarts.

It has a larger molecule, is under less pressure and is much slower to leak.

Although mine usually lasts for a couple of years before needing recharging, it costs only about $20 per refill, which if your air conditioning system doesn't have a massive leak or compressor problems, should last all summer.

What advantage would be gained by removing all the air conditioning plumbing?

Edited by smartdriver