Jocko

Extension cord on 120 charger

12 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I just traded my 2006 Smart CDI for a used 2016 ED with 50k, so I'm new to this charging thing.

I set up my charger near my carport. It seems to be weather proof but just the same I built a small cedar box to keep it out of the elements. I noticed the rubber gasket near the plug was pulled out so I pushed it back but I'm doubting its water proof now.

That being said I'm about 25 feet from my power plug. I connected a heavy duty extension cord to plug in the charger and everything seemed OK.

I've only plugged the car in a few times at home because I can charge at work for free. I haven't had any issues but today when I went out I find the charger is flashing red after a 100% charge. The car charged OK but the charger is giving me a warning light. I unplugged and replugged and I still had the red lights. I plugged it straight to the socket and the lights went green.  I tried another extension and the lights were green. I put it back to the original extension and again all is green.

So what's up with these chargers?

Is this a usual thing?

Do any of you use extension cords?

Is my charger on the fritz?

I've only used the charger 3 times but it looks very used.

Thanks!

24 minutes ago, Huronlad said:

What gauge of wire is the extension cord constructed of that you are using?  

We use a 10 gauge 120 volt 15 amp extension cord which never even gets warm...

In my experience I got the "red light" when the extension cord or the electrical outlet had a problem with the ground. In my case, it would not charge at all when I got the red light. When I fixed the ground, the problem went away.

1 person likes this

I'll have to check the gauge but it's heavy with a single plug. I used to use it for a 15 amp snow blower without any issues.  I noticed the extension is cool but the plug for the charger gets warm.

Is that normal?