GreenBombLittleChickie

Just bought a used 2005 smart car fortwo. Hasn't run for almost a year. Any suggestions?

11 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Just bought a used 2005 smart car fortwo. It hasn't run in almost a year. After doing some minor maintenance to it(replaced the battery, and replaced the alternator), it is running! 

My concern now is it revs high. 4500 rpm before shifting(on automatic setting). I'm new to the smart car feel and I'm not sure how normal it is. It also seems to shift with some difficulty. 

My assumption after replacing the alternator and battery, new oil, and transmission fluid is likely a good idea. Any other comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated! 

Sincerely,

Little Chickie

Edited by GreenBombLittleChickie

Hi, welcome to the nuthouse....lol....yep we all own a Smart Car...lol
There are many many people here who'll bend over backwards to try and help with any issue you may have.   Plenty of knowledgeable people who know all there is to know...smart wise that is.

As for the high rev'ing I agree, so I use the standard setting or mode as I like to be in control of the shifting RPMs. It is far smoother and more economical I find......and IF you forget the car will shift for you. So no fear of damages  so to speak.

Great to see more new folks in the Toronto area.....most are closer to the London area and that is where the best Smart car mechanic resides  Search out Glenn....great guy.

Smart142  Hope I got it correct this time...lol

There are plenty of things to check and possibly adjust to get the most from your car especially if has been sitting for a while. 

1 person likes this