Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 01:39 PM) We've got a how-to here ( http://clubsmartcar....&id=4&record=32 ), but a video is always best!
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 01:22 PM) Looks like another video opportunity
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 01:12 PM) Better than a new one haha
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 01:11 PM) and it sounds like you got a good deal ;)
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 01:09 PM) yes sir :)
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 01:08 PM) I guess you got in touch with him?
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 01:05 PM) man Troy is an awesome dude
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 12:50 PM) found it! Thanks man. I remember he was a big help when I did the reluctor ring replacement
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 12:49 PM) http://clubsmartcar....&id=5&record=11
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 12:49 PM) Nope, It's Troy Wilson Automotive. Gimme a second
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 12:48 PM) cause I cant find a number for them anywhere
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 12:47 PM) awesome Thats house of diesel right?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 12:39 PM) And by "it", I meant the alternator from it
@  FlossyTheSmart : (27 November 2014 - 12:38 PM) Troy has a parts car at his shop right now. You could probably get a good deal on it.
@  TheBestJohn : (27 November 2014 - 12:29 PM) looks like my altenator is done...
@  kdubya : (26 November 2014 - 11:38 PM) *posted a topic in the forum with pic attached*
@  kdubya : (26 November 2014 - 11:14 PM) Bought a galletto 1260 to remap, however the only options it gives for smarts are .6, 1.5 cdi, and a .9cdi?? Neither will read my car, anyone experience this?
@  Francesco : (26 November 2014 - 09:53 PM) Thanks! Told my wife a few weeks ago that's the only thing on my Xmas wish list this year! Sister calls me the Bad Driver Magnet
@  dmoonen : (26 November 2014 - 06:53 PM) Bought a couple dash cams, ps they're on sale at staples for $44. idiot drivers pushed me to the edge
@  turbomar : (22 November 2014 - 06:33 PM) Thanks for the tip lads! Going to Princess tomorrow
@  marchanna : (22 November 2014 - 05:57 PM) Princess Auto is the best! I live less than a Km from there.
@  Bessy : (22 November 2014 - 05:53 PM) Turbomar, Princess Auto has the socket for about $3. I've done 20 or so pairs of reluctors and haven't broken a socket yet.
@  dmoonen : (22 November 2014 - 09:48 AM) Yes it is Turbomar.
@  turbomar : (22 November 2014 - 07:38 AM) Is the socket size for the drive axle bolt to hub on the 450, 12 point 21mm?
@  dmoonen : (21 November 2014 - 03:41 PM) I think glow plug gets triggered by the coolant sensor
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 12:11 PM) I couldn't tell you for sure.
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 11:39 AM) i played around a bunch, entered everything i could. i didn't see it anywhere. Is it something we know the Star can do?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:52 AM) There are a whole lot of read outs in there, so you may have to dig around a bit, but that's where I would think they'd be.
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 09:45 AM) k ill check. i want to make sure they are working. just a read out of temp
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:21 AM) probably under the "Engine" section
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:20 AM) Read out is likely under Systems>N3/9 (EDG control unit) > Actual Value Indicator, somewhere.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:18 AM) As in, configurable, or just a read out?
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 08:58 AM) Anyone know where to find cylinder temp (glow plug function) on the Star??
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 November 2014 - 11:38 AM) classic
@  Mike T : (19 November 2014 - 11:38 AM) Hodor
@  evotell : (19 November 2014 - 11:35 AM) Saying your own name, I don't get it?
@  dmoonen : (19 November 2014 - 10:52 AM) Saying your own name evotell :P
@  evotell : (19 November 2014 - 10:49 AM) evotell
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 06:29 PM) Well, we repaired the wires and its driving fine now... I guess I'll have to wait for another slushy day to be sure. Thanks for all the help guys!
@  Mike T : (18 November 2014 - 05:24 PM) This happened to our dearly departed green car too and the solution was that simple.
@  SkydiverChris : (18 November 2014 - 03:32 PM) Glad to hear that you may have found the cause Kurt! Keep us posted! It's almost never that simple.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 12:00 PM) cost me close to $300 to tow from the Canadian border post at Hemingford to my driveway (80 km), and my car was up on blocks for two weeks while I tracked down and resolved the issues.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 11:58 AM) jurist? During
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 11:58 AM) Yep, mine started acting up jurist a January thaw on a long steady drive through the country, then the car refused to move on a slushy day on a long steady drive on the same roads a week later. The slushy brine is both conductive and tenacious.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (18 November 2014 - 11:40 AM) That's probably it.
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 11:21 AM) So my friend with soldering skills is going to help me after work... I'm confident this will solve the problem. First slushy day we have so it must have splashed up there and shorted out.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:25 AM) knock on wood, no recurrence after two winters and three summers.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:25 AM) then wraped all in Tesa cloth harness tape ($20 a roll at MB, about the same off ebay)
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:24 AM) Yeah, mine was the same. I repaired the wires and coated the whole thing in Liquid Electrical Tape ($9 at CT)
@  stickman007 : (18 November 2014 - 10:20 AM) There's probably corrosion inside the sheath due to moisture getting in

Photo
- - - - -

How big is my gas tank?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 JDLangdon

JDLangdon
  • New Members
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 August 2007 - 04:11 AM

The owners manual suggest that the tank is 22 liters with 5 listed as a reserve. Can someone explain to me how this works and when does the reserve actually kick in?I noticed this morning the light on the dash indicating that I had 2 liters of gas remaining in the tank. Since I was passing the gas station I decided to full-up. According to my dealer I'm susposed to pump the gas until the nozzle clicks, wait 30 seconds or so, and start pumping again. After the second click, the tank should be full. Assuming that the light on the dash was correct I managed to add an additional 18 liters for a total of 20 liters.This may seem like an odd question but how big is a Smart gas tank and where are my other 2 liters of gas?Jason

#2 Duck

Duck

    Crazy Quacker

  • Regular Members
  • 9,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted 02 August 2007 - 04:51 AM

No no, it's cool, it's kind of confusing. :)The tank is 22 litres - a lot of people get hung up on the terminology of "reserve" but it's not like there's physically another chunk of tank or something that opens... all smart means by this is that, at 17 L, the indicator on the dash starts blinking at you. So when they say 22 L but 5 of it are reserve, its just there way of saying they think you should fill up at 17 L. Of course you won't get very far on a tank if you do that.I find that with my car if for example I drive until it says I have 1 L remaining, I can usually fit in 22 L. So I'm always filling about 1 L more than what the tank capacity says it is.-Iain
2006 smart fortwo cdi Nosedive.... Back up and running!
2010 Toyota Gen3 Prius Normandy (N7) - Hybrid Synergy Drive active!

#3 JDLangdon

JDLangdon
  • New Members
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 August 2007 - 05:02 AM

No no, it's cool, it's kind of confusing. :) The tank is 22 litres - a lot of people get hung up on the terminology of "reserve" but it's not like there's physically another -Iain

So, essentially, I have a 22 liter tank that I've never managed to fill up beyond 20 liters? I would think that if the lite indicates that there is 2 liters left, I should be able to add another 20 liters but the most I've managed to get in was 18. Jason

#4 Duck

Duck

    Crazy Quacker

  • Regular Members
  • 9,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted 02 August 2007 - 05:10 AM

You'll only be able to put 22+ litres in it if you drive to when your display flashes 1.0 or 0.5 or 0.0 L Remaining.You have to be really patient... fill until it snaps off, and keep trickling it in. Eventually you'll see liquid at the brim (not foam), but even at that point if you shake the car or hump on the tailgate you'll be able to get more in. Eddie3 would be a lot more qualified to give a better answer how to do this though, he can get 27 L into his tank without much difficulty. :)-Iain
2006 smart fortwo cdi Nosedive.... Back up and running!
2010 Toyota Gen3 Prius Normandy (N7) - Hybrid Synergy Drive active!

#5 yellow bumble bee

yellow bumble bee
  • Regular Members
  • 522 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 02 August 2007 - 07:26 AM

The same thing happens with my car. If my gauge is flashing 5 litres I can only get 15 litres in filling slowly so the foam is up to the rim. I think my gauge is off by 2 litres. Not a bad thing I thinkRoy
2006 Smart Pulse-151k+ Only 849,000 Kilometres to go to make my first Million
Mac007 on the Spritmonitor.
Lifetime FE 4.18 litres per 100 kilometres. 56.4 MPG (US)

#6 smartzuuk

smartzuuk

    Secretary, CsC Board of Directors

  • Directors
  • 6,935 posts
  • Location:BC

Posted 02 August 2007 - 07:54 AM

Such an old conversation with all kinds of varying replies... ;-)This to say - you can have 28 litres in your tank.I regularly have about 25-26 after filling. There are approx 2 litres remaining after it says 0.0, but 'don't try that at home'.
I once was found, but now I'm lost.

#7 danno

danno
  • Regular Members
  • 991 posts
  • Location:Vernon, BC

Posted 02 August 2007 - 10:24 AM

There are approx 2 litres remaining after it says 0.0, but 'don't try that at home'.

Go ahead and try it at home, especially if you have a can of diesel sitting around. Don't try it in the middle god-forsaken-nowhere. ;)
Dan

2006 Star Blue Metallic Passion Coupé
450 diesel (Oct.19/06) w/leather, heated seats, cup holder, locking drawer, sound package, tach & clock pods, brushed rear valance, LED front side markers blink on signal, mudflaps, delipped, Scangauge, Wallace & Gromit, plus the other standard features of the Passion package.
Other vehicles: '11 Ford Fiesta SES, '06 Mazda3 Sport, '03 Yamaha Road Star Silverado,

#8 I M SMRT

I M SMRT
  • Regular Members
  • 4,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campbell River, BC

Posted 02 August 2007 - 12:20 PM

at any rate dont run the car dry for the sake of testing this! that is far worse than underfilling!
2006 Grandstyle Fortwo #23/200

O ||||||| O 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

There are two types of pedestrians in this world. The quick and the dead.

#9 JDLangdon

JDLangdon
  • New Members
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 August 2007 - 11:34 AM

There are approx 2 litres remaining after it says 0.0, but 'don't try that at home'.

Does that mean that while the indicator is displaying 4.0 I actually have 6 liters remaining? Jason

#10 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,915 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 07 August 2007 - 11:39 AM

Yes, but don't use it!

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, plan to restore 201066_5.png


#11 JDLangdon

JDLangdon
  • New Members
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 August 2007 - 12:00 PM

Yes, but don't use it!

Thanks Mike, That explains a lot. The best I'e done so far is 410 Km with 2.5 showing. Thiis was when I had less the 3000Km on the car and didn't know just how much 2.5 liters of fuel was. Jason

#12 I M SMRT

I M SMRT
  • Regular Members
  • 4,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campbell River, BC

Posted 07 August 2007 - 05:56 PM

After filling up Saturday at the Crescent Lake stop in Washington I made it back to Campbell River on one tank. After driving to work and back Monday I had 2 litres showing in the tank. I put 23 litres in the car. Fill, let the foam settle, fill, settle, shake the car, etc etc... it'll go in...it just takes time!
2006 Grandstyle Fortwo #23/200

O ||||||| O 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

There are two types of pedestrians in this world. The quick and the dead.

#13 mwrunt

mwrunt
  • Regular Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 07 August 2007 - 06:17 PM

at any rate dont run the car dry for the sake of testing this! that is far worse than underfilling!

injection pumps run extremily tight tolerances and use diesel as lubrication. I saw a two week old john deer tracter have a pump failure 7 hours after being run out of diesel and this was not coverd under warranty. Cost of pump aver $3000 so in my opinion its not worth finding how much the tank will hold. O ya it was a common rail engine just like the cdi in our cars just bigger




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users