Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Mike T : (29 August 2015 - 07:33 AM) I've no idea! Sorry, I rarely went there anyway. I think they had "issues". Driving to Banff today in the rain in prep for a 290 km bike ride from Jasper to Banff. Cheers
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 11:24 PM) Ah. Just found Martin's tweet from January, but its link is dead so I have no details of why the club was dissolved
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:49 PM) Hey Mike, what happened to CsQ? I haven't logged in in over a year, but it seems the lights aren't on...?
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:39 PM) keep you eyes on the classifieds here, SCoA and CsQ, as well as Kijiji. Deals on rims pop up from time to time.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:36 PM) and yes, you'll find even with a one inch drop there is plenty of arch gap. I'm -1.25 in the front and -1.4 out back and it could go lower (but would drive balls). I hate the useless stanced look.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:34 PM) Figure a good $1400 or more to your door.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:33 PM) Ouch. The shipping will be more than the (discounted) 19% VAT, and then you'll likely get a collect bill from Canada Post for GST/PST and duties.
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:15 PM) I found these: http://www.rs-parts....r-smart450.html
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:15 PM) Question: With the lowered springs (Eibach, 25mm), can I still put a set of 16" on my limousine?
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:14 PM) I'll see what I can do...
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 08:56 AM) Check with Fast Eddy to see if he'll rent you the correct tool for cheap.
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:43 PM) (like copper or aluminium)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:43 PM) I'll try with something hard, but not as hard as steel
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:42 PM) tolsen has posted about it before. Personally I thought a couple hours of tinkering was time better spent elsewhere, and the $50 for the tool well spent
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:41 PM) you need a hardwood, soft won't do
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:41 PM) no worries, got the idea
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:40 PM) the hole being the exact size of the rod, not the disc. Sorry about the syntax
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:39 PM) A wooden clamp would work well. Drill a hole in a wooden disc the exact size of the strut rod's diameter, then cut the disc in half and add flats
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:13 PM) leather is too soft, as is rubber. I was thinking about either copper wire wound around the strut or tinfoil. and a vise Grip
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:11 PM) An old leather belt might work better, but I had no luck with it
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:10 PM) (I was thinking about a vise grip and tinfoil. you know, tinfoil is aluminum, and can potentailly protect the shock, and a vbise grip is FAR more useful than the clamp, but this is me trying to Mcgiver a solution, as usual...)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:07 PM) ah, ok, then
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:06 PM) The strut spins freely, you need the special clamping tool to provide flats for a big open ended wrench (with this tool 47 mm)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:03 PM) Can't I use LOTS of wd40, a t47 bit and a breaker bar?
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:01 PM) The strut clamp is a necessity. Worth every cent I paid -- making something similar myself would have taken me more time than I'd like to spend in order to save the few bucks.
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:00 PM) c'mon! I'll use twine. And optimism.
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 01:59 PM) I honestly didn't need them on the broken spring, and while handy for the lowering springs, not necessary.
@  dmoonen : (27 August 2015 - 08:06 AM) Spring compresssors are still needed. .Tolson why must you take the hard way to everything
@  Surturiel : (26 August 2015 - 03:59 PM) nah, the springs are broken, and I can use the ye old zip-tie trick. But since I'm going to put eibachs (-25mm) I won't worry.]
@  tolsen : (26 August 2015 - 03:43 PM) Clamp type spring compressors should not be used since the damage both protective coating and spring.
@  dmoonen : (26 August 2015 - 11:27 AM) The spring compressors you can borrow at Canadian tire
@  dmoonen : (26 August 2015 - 11:27 AM) I have the Mercedes strut clamp you can borrow just pay shipping and if you break it you buy it. Pm me
@  Surturiel : (26 August 2015 - 08:51 AM) thanks, guys! And... does anyone in Vancouver area have the clamp so I can "rent"?
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 06:43 PM) To and from SK*. I'm just waiting on some bits to finish the Golf build
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 06:41 PM) Still driving it, drove it to and from and average 4.7l/100l loaded to the brim.
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 06:19 PM) Dillen how much did you end up getting for the wagon?
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:13 PM) And if replacing the plastic bellows (dust boots) on the struts, cut a good 1.5" off the bottoms of them or they'll just compress around the stops and get in the way of the clamp tool
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:11 PM) also, take a new knife blade and cut about an inch off the bump stops unless you love bottoming out on small bumps.
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:09 PM) wont need it for the Eibachs
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:09 PM) If the springs are broken at the top as suspected, the spring compressor might not be necessary.
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:49 PM) And a normal spring compressor
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:46 PM) Strut clamp tool*
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:46 PM) Lots of penetrating oil on the top nut and see if you can borrow a strut tool of you don't have the proper air tools
@  Surturiel : (25 August 2015 - 01:08 PM) Now, let's see if I can replace them without getting myself killed...
@  Surturiel : (25 August 2015 - 01:07 PM) Got the Eibach springs!
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 12:29 PM) Lol
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 10:18 AM) ok, maybe MikeT
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 10:18 AM) Who doesn't? Hehehe
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 07:46 AM) sounds like you have a decent to do list. .
@  Surturiel : (23 August 2015 - 08:00 PM) Perhaps even throw a set of powerflex purple bushings, and a set of 16" "space" wheels, but not now...)

Photo

Wiring Diagram Needed


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:09 PM

Hi, I'm on the search for the wiring diagram for my 05 Smart if anyone has one that would be great I'm trying to trace out my shifting problem which only happens when it's wet out and the dealer can only get memory codes from the shifting sensors they claim I have an open circut on one of the wires ( it never pulls an error code when we bring it in of course ) they could trace them but at thier hourly rate I can do the same but a diagram would make it easier.TX :D

#2 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:10 PM

As far as I know, there isn't going to be any one wiring diagram for your smart. There are dozens of wiring diagrams for various systems. With literally thousands of wires in the car, just finding the right diagram is going to be a nightmare. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 05 January 2008 - 11:32 PM

I presume from your comments that the car does report a code sometimes, but when at the dealership, they don't see that code. How do you know this? Are you using a Scangauge or other reader to see the code? What is the code number?

If the car throws up a fault code, that will point to the sub-system they should be checking. With that knowledge, along with the MB/smart dealer's Workstation Information System, they should be able to get to the area where the fault/short/open circuit is and then do a physical sort.

Is this still about the same problem you reported on Dec 4? Can you maybe induce the failure by taking the car through a spraywash near the dealership?

Did they check the wiring connections at the clutch actuator? That's a known weakness.

Good luck...
Bil B) (Kelowna)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 06 January 2008 - 10:17 PM

The shop had these codes come up when it was in Dec 4 but they didn't appear after fixing it so they thought it had something to do with the faulty SAM. But it's not, so they hooked it up again to check but by the time I get it to the shop everything is back to normal and they only get memory codes they tried spaying it down and they drove it around for a couple of hours but came up with nothing.checked connectors etc. They said they could pin point it if it showed the shifting fault when at the shopThe codes are PI925 and P1850 for the gear position and trans speed sensor It seems to be getting worse when it acts up now too. It falls into neutral and I have to turn off the car and restart it to reset the gears and when it happens it fails 4-5 times in 10 min then it drives like nothing happened

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:43 PM

This sounds like one of three things... a wiring fault in either the SE drive or the gear selector/actuator; or a known flaw in the brake light switch that can cause the transmission not to go properly into/out of reverse. Unless you are a dab hand at wiring and electronics, best repair is just replace the offending unit assembly.Those are the three sub-systems to concentrate on. In my opinion, of course. Oh, and also inspect that shift actuator wiring at the connection beneath the car.Good luck!B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:12 AM

Have you ever removed the shifter housing, for example to install something like the push button start I sell? I only ask because I wonder if some wiring right at the shifter got compromised. I know it doesn't have anything to do with weather there... but maybe wet or dry is just a coincidence.Just thinking out loud. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#7 Wheel_Man

Wheel_Man
  • Regular Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Pickering, Ontario

Posted 07 January 2008 - 04:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now.Jim
2005 Passion, River silver, Heated leather seats, Power seats, Soft Touch, Cruise control, 5.1 surround sound stereo, Carion sub woofer, 7 inch widescreen in dash monitor, Jensen touch screen reciever, K&N filter and a delipped scoop, Factory driving lights and relocated signal lights, LED side lights, self dimming LCD rear view mirror, exhuast tips, rear window grip etc...
2008 Passion, River silver, Leather heated seats, $ Kenwood speakers, factory sub woofer, Double din touch screen radio with Nav, foglight rings, tinted glass, winter tire kit, a complete clone of my 2005!!!!

#8 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:01 PM

Well I order the FF310 fault finder from General Technologies yesterday and should be here by the end of the week. So I'll see how that goes. The only time we took the shifter apart was the other day to look for any wires that maybe damaged and the shifting error happens while were driving reg not from going from reverse to forward and also happens in Auto as well.So for now we have siliconed the connectors to see if it might be water entering them, now we just have to wait for it to snow again (yuk) Spraying it doesn't trigger it.And this gadget I ordered is supposed to find broken wires, open circuits etc. in just minutes so we'll put it to the test when it comes in.If that all fails then I guess we'll start replacing sensors etc.

#9 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now. Jim

Did your car pull the same codes as mine?

#10 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:06 PM

That FF310 fault finder appears to be a pretty slick tool! Excellent opinions on the 'Net, and the principle is simplicity itself (if not the actual technology). Please tell us how you make out...B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#11 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:56 PM

update from my last posting on the 7th Since we siliconed the connectors we've had a few wet days and I haven't had any shifting errors at all and the car is running great !! ( knock on wood !!! )

#12 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:55 AM

Jan 20 updateHuge dump of snow = shift error again !!!!!!!!!!!!In a 30km strech I had to restart and reset my gears 9 times.still waiting for my wire fault finder to come in the mail.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users