Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  turbomar : (22 November 2014 - 06:33 PM) Thanks for the tip lads! Going to Princess tomorrow
@  marchanna : (22 November 2014 - 05:57 PM) Princess Auto is the best! I live less than a Km from there.
@  Bessy : (22 November 2014 - 05:53 PM) Turbomar, Princess Auto has the socket for about $3. I've done 20 or so pairs of reluctors and haven't broken a socket yet.
@  dmoonen : (22 November 2014 - 09:48 AM) Yes it is Turbomar.
@  turbomar : (22 November 2014 - 07:38 AM) Is the socket size for the drive axle bolt to hub on the 450, 12 point 21mm?
@  dmoonen : (21 November 2014 - 03:41 PM) I think glow plug gets triggered by the coolant sensor
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 12:11 PM) I couldn't tell you for sure.
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 11:39 AM) i played around a bunch, entered everything i could. i didn't see it anywhere. Is it something we know the Star can do?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:52 AM) There are a whole lot of read outs in there, so you may have to dig around a bit, but that's where I would think they'd be.
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 09:45 AM) k ill check. i want to make sure they are working. just a read out of temp
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:21 AM) probably under the "Engine" section
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:20 AM) Read out is likely under Systems>N3/9 (EDG control unit) > Actual Value Indicator, somewhere.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (21 November 2014 - 09:18 AM) As in, configurable, or just a read out?
@  kdubya : (21 November 2014 - 08:58 AM) Anyone know where to find cylinder temp (glow plug function) on the Star??
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 November 2014 - 11:38 AM) classic
@  Mike T : (19 November 2014 - 11:38 AM) Hodor
@  evotell : (19 November 2014 - 11:35 AM) Saying your own name, I don't get it?
@  dmoonen : (19 November 2014 - 10:52 AM) Saying your own name evotell :P
@  evotell : (19 November 2014 - 10:49 AM) evotell
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 06:29 PM) Well, we repaired the wires and its driving fine now... I guess I'll have to wait for another slushy day to be sure. Thanks for all the help guys!
@  Mike T : (18 November 2014 - 05:24 PM) This happened to our dearly departed green car too and the solution was that simple.
@  SkydiverChris : (18 November 2014 - 03:32 PM) Glad to hear that you may have found the cause Kurt! Keep us posted! It's almost never that simple.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 12:00 PM) cost me close to $300 to tow from the Canadian border post at Hemingford to my driveway (80 km), and my car was up on blocks for two weeks while I tracked down and resolved the issues.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 11:58 AM) jurist? During
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 11:58 AM) Yep, mine started acting up jurist a January thaw on a long steady drive through the country, then the car refused to move on a slushy day on a long steady drive on the same roads a week later. The slushy brine is both conductive and tenacious.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (18 November 2014 - 11:40 AM) That's probably it.
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 11:21 AM) So my friend with soldering skills is going to help me after work... I'm confident this will solve the problem. First slushy day we have so it must have splashed up there and shorted out.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:25 AM) knock on wood, no recurrence after two winters and three summers.
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:25 AM) then wraped all in Tesa cloth harness tape ($20 a roll at MB, about the same off ebay)
@  Francesco : (18 November 2014 - 10:24 AM) Yeah, mine was the same. I repaired the wires and coated the whole thing in Liquid Electrical Tape ($9 at CT)
@  stickman007 : (18 November 2014 - 10:20 AM) There's probably corrosion inside the sheath due to moisture getting in
@  FlossyTheSmart : (18 November 2014 - 07:29 AM) with the wires chafed, they're probably only intermittantly making good contact. Wrapping in electrical tape probably won't be able to keep the connection good.
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 07:26 AM) What if I wrap the chafed wires in electrical tape and try driving around?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (18 November 2014 - 07:21 AM) hopefully it's as simple as that!
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 07:11 AM) I immediately found 2 chafed wires at the connection to the clutch actuator!
@  dmoonen : (18 November 2014 - 05:49 AM) Majority of the problems are in the engine harness area right at the IC scoop. Removing the IC would give you more wiggle room and less curse words
@  dmoonen : (18 November 2014 - 05:47 AM) SAM to rear ecu travels under the carpet and right into the firewall behind the seats.
@  dmoonen : (18 November 2014 - 05:46 AM) Harness to two sections: 1:Rear ECU TO engine sensors and components. 2: Sam:Rear ECU.
@  dmoonen : (18 November 2014 - 05:44 AM) No you dont need to kurt, mainly around the intercooler scoop area and back youll be
@  KurtMan : (18 November 2014 - 04:27 AM) Do I have to remove any of the under panels to get to the harness?
@  KurtMan : (17 November 2014 - 04:33 PM) Well maybe if I need a star machine I'll send you a message Max!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (17 November 2014 - 04:20 PM) I think just me, Chris, and Troy have star machines in the Ottawa area.
@  KurtMan : (17 November 2014 - 04:03 PM) Any help would be appreciated!
@  SkydiverChris : (17 November 2014 - 03:58 PM) NOt sure if anyone out your way has a Star, but there are a couple people around Ottawa that do. If you're stuck, they may be able to help
@  KurtMan : (17 November 2014 - 03:56 PM) Thanks I appreciate it!
@  SkydiverChris : (17 November 2014 - 03:55 PM) Sorry man, if you're still stuck on the weekend, I might be convinced to make a trip out that way (unless someone else gets there before I do), but there's a tonne of stuff to try, and the Star may or may not give you something to go on.
@  KurtMan : (17 November 2014 - 03:49 PM) Ya I feel ya... I guess I'll check the fork and harness tomorrow and go from there. Wish me luck!
@  SkydiverChris : (17 November 2014 - 03:46 PM) Ewww...that's one hell of a trip. haha
@  KurtMan : (17 November 2014 - 03:42 PM) Innes/Tenth line exactly
@  SkydiverChris : (17 November 2014 - 03:42 PM) If it was summer, I skydive in Gatineau and am out that way almost every weekend. Unfortunately, we don't jump in winter much.

Photo

Wiring Diagram Needed


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:09 PM

Hi, I'm on the search for the wiring diagram for my 05 Smart if anyone has one that would be great I'm trying to trace out my shifting problem which only happens when it's wet out and the dealer can only get memory codes from the shifting sensors they claim I have an open circut on one of the wires ( it never pulls an error code when we bring it in of course ) they could trace them but at thier hourly rate I can do the same but a diagram would make it easier.TX :D

#2 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,901 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:10 PM

As far as I know, there isn't going to be any one wiring diagram for your smart. There are dozens of wiring diagrams for various systems. With literally thousands of wires in the car, just finding the right diagram is going to be a nightmare. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 05 January 2008 - 11:32 PM

I presume from your comments that the car does report a code sometimes, but when at the dealership, they don't see that code. How do you know this? Are you using a Scangauge or other reader to see the code? What is the code number?

If the car throws up a fault code, that will point to the sub-system they should be checking. With that knowledge, along with the MB/smart dealer's Workstation Information System, they should be able to get to the area where the fault/short/open circuit is and then do a physical sort.

Is this still about the same problem you reported on Dec 4? Can you maybe induce the failure by taking the car through a spraywash near the dealership?

Did they check the wiring connections at the clutch actuator? That's a known weakness.

Good luck...
Bil B) (Kelowna)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 06 January 2008 - 10:17 PM

The shop had these codes come up when it was in Dec 4 but they didn't appear after fixing it so they thought it had something to do with the faulty SAM. But it's not, so they hooked it up again to check but by the time I get it to the shop everything is back to normal and they only get memory codes they tried spaying it down and they drove it around for a couple of hours but came up with nothing.checked connectors etc. They said they could pin point it if it showed the shifting fault when at the shopThe codes are PI925 and P1850 for the gear position and trans speed sensor It seems to be getting worse when it acts up now too. It falls into neutral and I have to turn off the car and restart it to reset the gears and when it happens it fails 4-5 times in 10 min then it drives like nothing happened

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:43 PM

This sounds like one of three things... a wiring fault in either the SE drive or the gear selector/actuator; or a known flaw in the brake light switch that can cause the transmission not to go properly into/out of reverse. Unless you are a dab hand at wiring and electronics, best repair is just replace the offending unit assembly.Those are the three sub-systems to concentrate on. In my opinion, of course. Oh, and also inspect that shift actuator wiring at the connection beneath the car.Good luck!B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,901 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:12 AM

Have you ever removed the shifter housing, for example to install something like the push button start I sell? I only ask because I wonder if some wiring right at the shifter got compromised. I know it doesn't have anything to do with weather there... but maybe wet or dry is just a coincidence.Just thinking out loud. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#7 Wheel_Man

Wheel_Man
  • Regular Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Pickering, Ontario

Posted 07 January 2008 - 04:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now.Jim
2005 Passion, River silver, Heated leather seats, Power seats, Soft Touch, Cruise control, 5.1 surround sound stereo, Carion sub woofer, 7 inch widescreen in dash monitor, Jensen touch screen reciever, K&N filter and a delipped scoop, Factory driving lights and relocated signal lights, LED side lights, self dimming LCD rear view mirror, exhuast tips, rear window grip etc...
2008 Passion, River silver, Leather heated seats, $ Kenwood speakers, factory sub woofer, Double din touch screen radio with Nav, foglight rings, tinted glass, winter tire kit, a complete clone of my 2005!!!!

#8 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:01 PM

Well I order the FF310 fault finder from General Technologies yesterday and should be here by the end of the week. So I'll see how that goes. The only time we took the shifter apart was the other day to look for any wires that maybe damaged and the shifting error happens while were driving reg not from going from reverse to forward and also happens in Auto as well.So for now we have siliconed the connectors to see if it might be water entering them, now we just have to wait for it to snow again (yuk) Spraying it doesn't trigger it.And this gadget I ordered is supposed to find broken wires, open circuits etc. in just minutes so we'll put it to the test when it comes in.If that all fails then I guess we'll start replacing sensors etc.

#9 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now. Jim

Did your car pull the same codes as mine?

#10 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:06 PM

That FF310 fault finder appears to be a pretty slick tool! Excellent opinions on the 'Net, and the principle is simplicity itself (if not the actual technology). Please tell us how you make out...B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#11 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:56 PM

update from my last posting on the 7th Since we siliconed the connectors we've had a few wet days and I haven't had any shifting errors at all and the car is running great !! ( knock on wood !!! )

#12 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:55 AM

Jan 20 updateHuge dump of snow = shift error again !!!!!!!!!!!!In a 30km strech I had to restart and reset my gears 9 times.still waiting for my wire fault finder to come in the mail.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users