Jump to content


Photo

Wiring Diagram Needed


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:09 PM

Hi, I'm on the search for the wiring diagram for my 05 Smart if anyone has one that would be great I'm trying to trace out my shifting problem which only happens when it's wet out and the dealer can only get memory codes from the shifting sensors they claim I have an open circut on one of the wires ( it never pulls an error code when we bring it in of course ) they could trace them but at thier hourly rate I can do the same but a diagram would make it easier.TX :D

#2 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,898 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:10 PM

As far as I know, there isn't going to be any one wiring diagram for your smart. There are dozens of wiring diagrams for various systems. With literally thousands of wires in the car, just finding the right diagram is going to be a nightmare. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 05 January 2008 - 11:32 PM

I presume from your comments that the car does report a code sometimes, but when at the dealership, they don't see that code. How do you know this? Are you using a Scangauge or other reader to see the code? What is the code number?

If the car throws up a fault code, that will point to the sub-system they should be checking. With that knowledge, along with the MB/smart dealer's Workstation Information System, they should be able to get to the area where the fault/short/open circuit is and then do a physical sort.

Is this still about the same problem you reported on Dec 4? Can you maybe induce the failure by taking the car through a spraywash near the dealership?

Did they check the wiring connections at the clutch actuator? That's a known weakness.

Good luck...
Bil B) (Kelowna)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 06 January 2008 - 10:17 PM

The shop had these codes come up when it was in Dec 4 but they didn't appear after fixing it so they thought it had something to do with the faulty SAM. But it's not, so they hooked it up again to check but by the time I get it to the shop everything is back to normal and they only get memory codes they tried spaying it down and they drove it around for a couple of hours but came up with nothing.checked connectors etc. They said they could pin point it if it showed the shifting fault when at the shopThe codes are PI925 and P1850 for the gear position and trans speed sensor It seems to be getting worse when it acts up now too. It falls into neutral and I have to turn off the car and restart it to reset the gears and when it happens it fails 4-5 times in 10 min then it drives like nothing happened

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:43 PM

This sounds like one of three things... a wiring fault in either the SE drive or the gear selector/actuator; or a known flaw in the brake light switch that can cause the transmission not to go properly into/out of reverse. Unless you are a dab hand at wiring and electronics, best repair is just replace the offending unit assembly.Those are the three sub-systems to concentrate on. In my opinion, of course. Oh, and also inspect that shift actuator wiring at the connection beneath the car.Good luck!B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,898 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:12 AM

Have you ever removed the shifter housing, for example to install something like the push button start I sell? I only ask because I wonder if some wiring right at the shifter got compromised. I know it doesn't have anything to do with weather there... but maybe wet or dry is just a coincidence.Just thinking out loud. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#7 Wheel_Man

Wheel_Man
  • Regular Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Pickering, Ontario

Posted 07 January 2008 - 04:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now.Jim
2005 Passion, River silver, Heated leather seats, Power seats, Soft Touch, Cruise control, 5.1 surround sound stereo, Carion sub woofer, 7 inch widescreen in dash monitor, Jensen touch screen reciever, K&N filter and a delipped scoop, Factory driving lights and relocated signal lights, LED side lights, self dimming LCD rear view mirror, exhuast tips, rear window grip etc...
2008 Passion, River silver, Leather heated seats, $ Kenwood speakers, factory sub woofer, Double din touch screen radio with Nav, foglight rings, tinted glass, winter tire kit, a complete clone of my 2005!!!!

#8 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:01 PM

Well I order the FF310 fault finder from General Technologies yesterday and should be here by the end of the week. So I'll see how that goes. The only time we took the shifter apart was the other day to look for any wires that maybe damaged and the shifting error happens while were driving reg not from going from reverse to forward and also happens in Auto as well.So for now we have siliconed the connectors to see if it might be water entering them, now we just have to wait for it to snow again (yuk) Spraying it doesn't trigger it.And this gadget I ordered is supposed to find broken wires, open circuits etc. in just minutes so we'll put it to the test when it comes in.If that all fails then I guess we'll start replacing sensors etc.

#9 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now. Jim

Did your car pull the same codes as mine?

#10 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:06 PM

That FF310 fault finder appears to be a pretty slick tool! Excellent opinions on the 'Net, and the principle is simplicity itself (if not the actual technology). Please tell us how you make out...B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#11 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:56 PM

update from my last posting on the 7th Since we siliconed the connectors we've had a few wet days and I haven't had any shifting errors at all and the car is running great !! ( knock on wood !!! )

#12 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:55 AM

Jan 20 updateHuge dump of snow = shift error again !!!!!!!!!!!!In a 30km strech I had to restart and reset my gears 9 times.still waiting for my wire fault finder to come in the mail.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  FlossyTheSmart : (28 August 2014 - 10:59 AM) Excellent, although I see the category listing must show the original author, rather than the person who last edited it.
@  SkydiverChris : (28 August 2014 - 09:18 AM) Edited successfully. I'm in the list now.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (28 August 2014 - 05:38 AM) BTW, I'm fairly certain the wiki at the top of the page should be fully operational, and editable by anyone, but no one has edited it since I moved everything back in. Could someone try making an update, maybe on the "How many KM on your smart" page or something?
@  P0003 : (27 August 2014 - 04:02 PM) =]
@  SkydiverChris : (27 August 2014 - 04:02 PM) Just an update, but it looks like I've found a ride for the window. Thanks everyone!
@  SkydiverChris : (26 August 2014 - 02:14 PM) If anyone is headed from the London, ON area to the Ottawa area, I have $100 for anyone who can get a rear window to me.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 09:20 AM) Vote for my picture on us129photos.com HERE so that I can get a free poster!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:24 AM) Cadillacman, good thing you figured it out. That's a pretty weird string to block on...
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:23 AM) I think the SAM and EDG (Presumably the ECU you mean) have to be paired. The SAM stores the key coding
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) I don't know which of the 2 items actually stores the key details
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) What about pairing a used SAM with an existing ECU... is that workable?
@  cadillacman : (26 August 2014 - 08:18 AM) All topics with string '888' were being blocked by a SiteBlock addon ... gads, the perils of avoiding sketchy websites
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:17 AM) Don't think there's a way to disable the immobilizer
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:15 AM) I wonder if there is a way to completely disable the immobilizer function while I'm getting things done. What a pain in the neck.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:14 AM) Oh dear what have I gotten myself in to... hah. Well in another month things should show up. I was just put off by the dealer telling me it was 100% impossible to code a used key to a used ecu :(
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) you just need the electronics work.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) Lol yeah. In your case though, you won't need to spend as much, as you don't actually need new keys or blades
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:11 AM) Looks like I'm in for a fun time. Ouch.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) "If you bought a car with 1 key or some how lost both keys then you are about to agree with me that you're
an idiot." lol
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) He notes under the 451 section that it is impossible to recode a 451 for more keys if you don't have an original. He says this is to prevent someone from walking up, coding a key, then driving your car away, which is apparently possible on the 450 and roadster. You may be in luck