Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 01:24 PM) Genius. I never even saw that selection, and have no idea how "items I started" got selected. Thank you!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 01:03 PM) Are any of the things in the left column under the "other" section checked?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 01:02 PM) Got it
@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 01:02 PM) done
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 10:05 AM) Definitely send me a screenshot via PM then.
@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 08:55 AM) I'm back from Australia, same issue on my laptop. "View New Content" doesn't show any new content. Chrome on Win7
@  KurtMan : (10 April 2015 - 10:00 AM) Thanks for the suggestion but it looks like uncle Glen will be supplying me a used one.
@  turbomar : (09 April 2015 - 08:34 PM) Perhaps you could check with Troy. He may have a good used one??
@  KurtMan : (09 April 2015 - 12:53 PM) Do you have a place in mind to order from? I don't want to pay more than a couple hundred...
@  marchanna : (09 April 2015 - 12:31 PM) Did you try ordering one online. You can probably get next day delivery.
@  KurtMan : (09 April 2015 - 10:16 AM) Does anyone have a parts car in the Ottawa area? I need an intercooler A.S.AP
@  Francesco : (07 April 2015 - 01:32 PM) yeah 3G. There was a long lineup at Vodaphone. Didn't know Optus uses LTE bands my iPad doesn't cover... Vodaphone worked on LTE last time I was here
@  Francesco : (07 April 2015 - 01:30 PM) I won't make you chase this until I get home next week. It has to be related to the hotel wifi portal somehow, at it has worked fine on Optus 3G for a few days until we checked in to this hotel
@  marchanna : (07 April 2015 - 09:43 AM) It would appear so
@  FlossyTheSmart : (07 April 2015 - 09:24 AM) It seems like Francesco is having some different problem than you were
@  marchanna : (07 April 2015 - 08:55 AM) It works fine for me now. Do you still want a screenshot?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (07 April 2015 - 05:10 AM) hmmm... mind sending me a PM with a screenshot if possible?
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:28 PM) Ok cleared cookies, it showed I was logged out and there was a raft of "new content" but when I sign in it still says "Sorry..."
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:25 PM) just for data points, I may have broken cookies or something, I'm in Surfers Paradise on hotel wifi right now
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:25 PM) What I'm saying is it *always* tells me "Sorry, no new content found," though if I click the "Forums" tab above it clearly shows new posts
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:59 PM) OK, the behaviour has now been changed. View New Content should now always default to Forum content, no matter what page you click the button from

Photo

Wiring Diagram Needed


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:09 PM

Hi, I'm on the search for the wiring diagram for my 05 Smart if anyone has one that would be great I'm trying to trace out my shifting problem which only happens when it's wet out and the dealer can only get memory codes from the shifting sensors they claim I have an open circut on one of the wires ( it never pulls an error code when we bring it in of course ) they could trace them but at thier hourly rate I can do the same but a diagram would make it easier.TX :D

#2 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:10 PM

As far as I know, there isn't going to be any one wiring diagram for your smart. There are dozens of wiring diagrams for various systems. With literally thousands of wires in the car, just finding the right diagram is going to be a nightmare. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 05 January 2008 - 11:32 PM

I presume from your comments that the car does report a code sometimes, but when at the dealership, they don't see that code. How do you know this? Are you using a Scangauge or other reader to see the code? What is the code number?

If the car throws up a fault code, that will point to the sub-system they should be checking. With that knowledge, along with the MB/smart dealer's Workstation Information System, they should be able to get to the area where the fault/short/open circuit is and then do a physical sort.

Is this still about the same problem you reported on Dec 4? Can you maybe induce the failure by taking the car through a spraywash near the dealership?

Did they check the wiring connections at the clutch actuator? That's a known weakness.

Good luck...
Bil B) (Kelowna)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 06 January 2008 - 10:17 PM

The shop had these codes come up when it was in Dec 4 but they didn't appear after fixing it so they thought it had something to do with the faulty SAM. But it's not, so they hooked it up again to check but by the time I get it to the shop everything is back to normal and they only get memory codes they tried spaying it down and they drove it around for a couple of hours but came up with nothing.checked connectors etc. They said they could pin point it if it showed the shifting fault when at the shopThe codes are PI925 and P1850 for the gear position and trans speed sensor It seems to be getting worse when it acts up now too. It falls into neutral and I have to turn off the car and restart it to reset the gears and when it happens it fails 4-5 times in 10 min then it drives like nothing happened

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:43 PM

This sounds like one of three things... a wiring fault in either the SE drive or the gear selector/actuator; or a known flaw in the brake light switch that can cause the transmission not to go properly into/out of reverse. Unless you are a dab hand at wiring and electronics, best repair is just replace the offending unit assembly.Those are the three sub-systems to concentrate on. In my opinion, of course. Oh, and also inspect that shift actuator wiring at the connection beneath the car.Good luck!B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:12 AM

Have you ever removed the shifter housing, for example to install something like the push button start I sell? I only ask because I wonder if some wiring right at the shifter got compromised. I know it doesn't have anything to do with weather there... but maybe wet or dry is just a coincidence.Just thinking out loud. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#7 Wheel_Man

Wheel_Man
  • Regular Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Pickering, Ontario

Posted 07 January 2008 - 04:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now.Jim
2005 Passion, River silver, Heated leather seats, Power seats, Soft Touch, Cruise control, 5.1 surround sound stereo, Carion sub woofer, 7 inch widescreen in dash monitor, Jensen touch screen reciever, K&N filter and a delipped scoop, Factory driving lights and relocated signal lights, LED side lights, self dimming LCD rear view mirror, exhuast tips, rear window grip etc...
2008 Passion, River silver, Leather heated seats, $ Kenwood speakers, factory sub woofer, Double din touch screen radio with Nav, foglight rings, tinted glass, winter tire kit, a complete clone of my 2005!!!!

#8 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:01 PM

Well I order the FF310 fault finder from General Technologies yesterday and should be here by the end of the week. So I'll see how that goes. The only time we took the shifter apart was the other day to look for any wires that maybe damaged and the shifting error happens while were driving reg not from going from reverse to forward and also happens in Auto as well.So for now we have siliconed the connectors to see if it might be water entering them, now we just have to wait for it to snow again (yuk) Spraying it doesn't trigger it.And this gadget I ordered is supposed to find broken wires, open circuits etc. in just minutes so we'll put it to the test when it comes in.If that all fails then I guess we'll start replacing sensors etc.

#9 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now. Jim

Did your car pull the same codes as mine?

#10 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:06 PM

That FF310 fault finder appears to be a pretty slick tool! Excellent opinions on the 'Net, and the principle is simplicity itself (if not the actual technology). Please tell us how you make out...B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#11 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:56 PM

update from my last posting on the 7th Since we siliconed the connectors we've had a few wet days and I haven't had any shifting errors at all and the car is running great !! ( knock on wood !!! )

#12 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:55 AM

Jan 20 updateHuge dump of snow = shift error again !!!!!!!!!!!!In a 30km strech I had to restart and reset my gears 9 times.still waiting for my wire fault finder to come in the mail.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (1)