Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 02:27 PM) will do!
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 02:17 PM) Do yourself a favor and spray some penetrating oil on the top shock nuts. Makes taking them off when the time comes much easier
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 02:14 PM) well, I'll try and drive more cautiously before I have the budget to do so...
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 02:05 PM) I've seen many smarts with broken springs even without them or the dealer knowing. Kind of hard to tell with a car that rides pretty rough with working suspension
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 02:04 PM) You planed on a suspension upgrade anyway lets just say it may have progressed up your list :P
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 02:03 PM) well, live and learn
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 02:03 PM) hmmm... nothing like buying a car without knowing about the car...
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 01:54 PM) Yup very common for both to break
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 01:15 PM) the car doesn't look higher on one side
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 01:14 PM) is it common for both sides to break?
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 12:31 PM) fronts are common to break, they commonly break and reseat in the bracket making them hard to see the actual break.
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 12:17 PM) Front, I think... I could't see where exactly. The front is sitting pretty low, sometimes the car makes weird clunk noises if I go too fast on a pothole
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 12:13 PM) Front or rear? Fronts are very common. I'm pretty sure the stock springs are made in a pasta factory.
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 11:59 AM) yep, my car's springs are broken... It's lower than the Eibach one!
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 11:02 AM) This is with the BRABUS kits I've had on the cabrio's https://instagram.co...aken-by=dmoonen

https://instagram.co...aken-by=dmoonen
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 11:00 AM) Height wise with the eibach VS OEM https://instagram.co...aken-by=dmoonen
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 10:56 AM) If you place the Eibach springs and the BRABUS springs side by side they are identical. Ride quality I cant say as I've only matched the eibach's with OEM shocks/struts
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 10:54 AM) Correct but very good.
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 10:49 AM) Eibach ones are cheap(ish), right?
@  Francesco : (07 July 2015 - 10:19 AM) ios. Bleh. "but bottoms out significantly less"
@  Francesco : (07 July 2015 - 10:18 AM) The Bilstein is certainly more firm than stock,mouth bottoms out significantly less. The progressive rate Eibach springs are very well matched to the Bilstein dampers
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 10:06 AM) what bugs me is the bang (bottoming out) when I drive over a pothole
@  dmoonen : (07 July 2015 - 09:53 AM) Any suspension for the 450 other then stock will be more rough fyi
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 09:01 AM) I *think* that my front springs might be broken, only now I realized that my front sits lower than usual
@  Surturiel : (07 July 2015 - 08:59 AM) I'm not too concerned about adjustable height. I would be satisfied with a more stable ride, that doesn't bottom out as much
@  stickman007 : (07 July 2015 - 06:26 AM) I got my H&R cup kit for around $630. The front is adjustable height. Not nearly as nice as the Bilstein, but way cheaper
@  Mike T : (07 July 2015 - 06:25 AM) The Bilstein set is height adjustable
@  Mike T : (07 July 2015 - 06:24 AM) The BRABUS suspension kit has been sold out for a while....I got it at a good price....had the installation done at the time of a major service. Byt 2000 still seems like too much.
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 11:14 PM) Bilstein, sorry
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 09:10 PM) (I was based on Eddie's price for the Eibach set, 1300 and something+ 600 instalation...)
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 09:09 PM) who has this suspension for sale?
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 09:09 PM) that sounds WAY better
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 09:09 PM) oh, ok.
@  Mike T : (06 July 2015 - 09:08 PM) My BRABUS suspension cost me $850 and I had the dealer install it for about $250. So $2000 seems a bit rich!
@  dmoonen : (06 July 2015 - 04:35 PM) In all seriousness about $150
@  dmoonen : (06 July 2015 - 04:33 PM) Two million doll hairs.
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 01:59 PM) and how much is this stalk..?
@  dmoonen : (06 July 2015 - 01:58 PM) Yes you need a new stalk, and just need to activate it with a STAR Machine.
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 01:02 PM) (and yes, your car is pretty much most of what I want on a smart...)
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 01:02 PM) how does the cruise control thing works? Do I need to get a new stalk?
@  Mike T : (06 July 2015 - 12:54 PM) Luckily my car already came with Nappa leather/ Alcantara seats, wide 15 inch rims and so on. Just had to add the finishing touches.
@  Mike T : (06 July 2015 - 12:53 PM) Eddy sells remaps at $300 occasionally, as well as cruise control (OEM)
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:10 PM) wraping? (myself) 500...
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:09 PM) remap? 500...
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:08 PM) interior? ( leather+sound) ANOTHER 2k
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:07 PM) suspension? 2k.
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:07 PM) wheels with tires? 2k (following your advice and using 15"s...)
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:07 PM) I was crunching numbers, and is likely that I'll end up spending around 7k more... :/
@  Surturiel : (06 July 2015 - 12:06 PM) no, I spent less than 3.5k on the car
@  Mike T : (06 July 2015 - 12:05 PM) I spent about $3300 on upgrades to my Tailor Made BRABUS diesel...

Photo

Wiring Diagram Needed


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 04 January 2008 - 09:09 PM

Hi, I'm on the search for the wiring diagram for my 05 Smart if anyone has one that would be great I'm trying to trace out my shifting problem which only happens when it's wet out and the dealer can only get memory codes from the shifting sensors they claim I have an open circut on one of the wires ( it never pulls an error code when we bring it in of course ) they could trace them but at thier hourly rate I can do the same but a diagram would make it easier.TX :D

#2 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 05 January 2008 - 05:10 PM

As far as I know, there isn't going to be any one wiring diagram for your smart. There are dozens of wiring diagrams for various systems. With literally thousands of wires in the car, just finding the right diagram is going to be a nightmare. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 05 January 2008 - 11:32 PM

I presume from your comments that the car does report a code sometimes, but when at the dealership, they don't see that code. How do you know this? Are you using a Scangauge or other reader to see the code? What is the code number?

If the car throws up a fault code, that will point to the sub-system they should be checking. With that knowledge, along with the MB/smart dealer's Workstation Information System, they should be able to get to the area where the fault/short/open circuit is and then do a physical sort.

Is this still about the same problem you reported on Dec 4? Can you maybe induce the failure by taking the car through a spraywash near the dealership?

Did they check the wiring connections at the clutch actuator? That's a known weakness.

Good luck...
Bil B) (Kelowna)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 06 January 2008 - 10:17 PM

The shop had these codes come up when it was in Dec 4 but they didn't appear after fixing it so they thought it had something to do with the faulty SAM. But it's not, so they hooked it up again to check but by the time I get it to the shop everything is back to normal and they only get memory codes they tried spaying it down and they drove it around for a couple of hours but came up with nothing.checked connectors etc. They said they could pin point it if it showed the shifting fault when at the shopThe codes are PI925 and P1850 for the gear position and trans speed sensor It seems to be getting worse when it acts up now too. It falls into neutral and I have to turn off the car and restart it to reset the gears and when it happens it fails 4-5 times in 10 min then it drives like nothing happened

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:43 PM

This sounds like one of three things... a wiring fault in either the SE drive or the gear selector/actuator; or a known flaw in the brake light switch that can cause the transmission not to go properly into/out of reverse. Unless you are a dab hand at wiring and electronics, best repair is just replace the offending unit assembly.Those are the three sub-systems to concentrate on. In my opinion, of course. Oh, and also inspect that shift actuator wiring at the connection beneath the car.Good luck!B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 SmartieParts

SmartieParts
  • Regular Members
  • 6,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:near Kelowna, BC Canada

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:12 AM

Have you ever removed the shifter housing, for example to install something like the push button start I sell? I only ask because I wonder if some wiring right at the shifter got compromised. I know it doesn't have anything to do with weather there... but maybe wet or dry is just a coincidence.Just thinking out loud. - Steven
2008 Passion Coupe
Silver Tridion - White Panels
Factory options: Alarm system and fog lights.
Mods: Cruise Contol


SmartieParts.com - Home of the Area 451 Cruise Control

#7 Wheel_Man

Wheel_Man
  • Regular Members
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Pickering, Ontario

Posted 07 January 2008 - 04:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now.Jim
2005 Passion, River silver, Heated leather seats, Power seats, Soft Touch, Cruise control, 5.1 surround sound stereo, Carion sub woofer, 7 inch widescreen in dash monitor, Jensen touch screen reciever, K&N filter and a delipped scoop, Factory driving lights and relocated signal lights, LED side lights, self dimming LCD rear view mirror, exhuast tips, rear window grip etc...
2008 Passion, River silver, Leather heated seats, $ Kenwood speakers, factory sub woofer, Double din touch screen radio with Nav, foglight rings, tinted glass, winter tire kit, a complete clone of my 2005!!!!

#8 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:01 PM

Well I order the FF310 fault finder from General Technologies yesterday and should be here by the end of the week. So I'll see how that goes. The only time we took the shifter apart was the other day to look for any wires that maybe damaged and the shifting error happens while were driving reg not from going from reverse to forward and also happens in Auto as well.So for now we have siliconed the connectors to see if it might be water entering them, now we just have to wait for it to snow again (yuk) Spraying it doesn't trigger it.And this gadget I ordered is supposed to find broken wires, open circuits etc. in just minutes so we'll put it to the test when it comes in.If that all fails then I guess we'll start replacing sensors etc.

#9 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 07 January 2008 - 10:15 PM

I had the same problem last week and MB replaced the steering angle sensor, the G sensor and when i said that these items have nothing to do with the transmission shifting, they finally replaced the transmission motor that acually does the moving of the shift rings, not the acutator. Runs good now. Jim

Did your car pull the same codes as mine?

#10 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 07 January 2008 - 11:06 PM

That FF310 fault finder appears to be a pretty slick tool! Excellent opinions on the 'Net, and the principle is simplicity itself (if not the actual technology). Please tell us how you make out...B)
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#11 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 13 January 2008 - 03:56 PM

update from my last posting on the 7th Since we siliconed the connectors we've had a few wet days and I haven't had any shifting errors at all and the car is running great !! ( knock on wood !!! )

#12 baby3848

baby3848
  • New Members
  • 31 posts
  • Location:Interior,B.C.

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:55 AM

Jan 20 updateHuge dump of snow = shift error again !!!!!!!!!!!!In a 30km strech I had to restart and reset my gears 9 times.still waiting for my wire fault finder to come in the mail.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users