Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  marchanna : (28 July 2015 - 11:51 AM) Yup. Sometimes the simplest is the best.
@  Mike T : (28 July 2015 - 11:07 AM) Best idea yet!
@  marchanna : (28 July 2015 - 08:39 AM) It fits nicely in the back of the Benz if I put the seats down. I just thought it would be novel to put it on the back of the Smart.
@  Francesco : (27 July 2015 - 08:10 PM) Or wheelie bars
@  Mike T : (27 July 2015 - 08:07 PM) Preferably, use a larger vehicle.
@  Francesco : (27 July 2015 - 08:05 PM) I would think a trailer is your only option. The physics is just wrong in a couple of dimensions to be hanging 300 lbs behind the rear wheels
@  marchanna : (27 July 2015 - 07:27 PM) Check it out: can-drift.com
@  marchanna : (27 July 2015 - 07:21 PM) It's an electric drift trike. I wanted to see if I could fab a vertical rack on the back of the Smart. The trike weighs about 200lbs - I could probably build an aluminum rack as light as 50lbs - but that still the exceeds the tongue weight of the hitches, thought maybe the towing bolt holes could hold a little more weight.
@  Francesco : (27 July 2015 - 04:50 PM) even the trunk weight is recommended to be no more than 50 kg...
@  Francesco : (27 July 2015 - 04:49 PM) Wow, I have no idea what you're attempting but that sounds like too much weight for the rear of the smart altogether, not just for the two bolts.
@  marchanna : (27 July 2015 - 08:01 AM) I want to hold about 300lbs across of them.
@  marchanna : (27 July 2015 - 07:59 AM) Yes
@  Francesco : (27 July 2015 - 07:43 AM) Vertical?
@  marchanna : (27 July 2015 - 06:32 AM) Anyone know how much load the towing eye bolt hold in the rear bumper of a 451 can carry?
@  NelsonSmart : (19 July 2015 - 11:59 AM) The ECU computer will have to be set with Star or Equiv to get light off.
@  Surturiel : (19 July 2015 - 10:10 AM) all, and all, the only damage was sustained by the tire (that was old already)(aside, of course, from the airbag...)
@  Surturiel : (19 July 2015 - 10:09 AM) yep, talk about overreaction. i hit the curb, the airbag blows up on my ear, and the car shuts down...
@  dmoonen : (19 July 2015 - 06:58 AM) Lol air bag went off? That's a bit drastic. The car shuts down in a case of an accident so cycling the key makes sense.
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 09:43 PM) (with the airbag...)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 09:43 PM) anyone have by any chance an used passenger seat for a 450 fortwo, passion? (dark gray)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:08 PM) turns out that you have to turn everything ( including the hazards) off to get the car to work again...)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:07 PM) (I mean, the car just DIED. I was there, stunned, trying to figure out why I couldn't get it running)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:05 PM) (that thing surely is loud, got me half deaf for a while. Also, the whole smart crash routine got me REALLY startled)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:02 PM) but do I need to do anything aside from replacing the airbag to get the light off?
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:01 PM) springs and everything
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 08:01 PM) will service the suspension soon
@  Mike T : (18 July 2015 - 07:17 PM) check the toe setting
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 04:41 PM) (the front wheel and suspension are fine, the tire needed to be replaced)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 04:40 PM) so, aside from needing to replace the airbag itself, do I need to do anything special to get the light off? (time to find a used passenger grey 450 seat)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 04:38 PM) (the seat one)
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 04:38 PM) but my smart, being the overprotective nanny that it is, decided that my integrity was at risk and BLEW UP THE SIDE AIRBAG !
@  Surturiel : (18 July 2015 - 04:37 PM) i hit a curb (because I'm a blind dumbass that misjudged the curb height) 

Photo

451: Are tire pressure sensors required?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 brd

brd
  • Regular Members
  • 515 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GTA

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:31 PM

I'm looking to upgrade the factory rims on my 2009 cabrio. Is it necessary to install the smart tire pressure sensors on the new rims? These things cost ~$100 each which is pretty ridiculous. And their only purpose is to meet US preferences (they are not installed in Europe).If not having them installed means having some stupid warning on the dashboard I can live with that. But if means that the car will go into some sort of limp mode due to the warning thats another story.Any insight or experience out there with this?thanks

#2 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:44 PM

Should be OK and maybe you could remove the bulb.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png


#3 Talgas

Talgas
  • Regular Members
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonton, AB

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

If you really want the sensors but want to pay less they have them at the Costco Tire Shop for ~$65 each. Still too expensive for me on my winter tires.... so I just live with the light. There's no adverse effect or anything (no limp mode), just the light on the dash.
2008 Passion Coupe: Blue w/ Silver Tridion, Fog Lights/Pods, Scangauge and Area451 Cruise

#4 smart65

smart65
  • Regular Members
  • 1,070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:25 AM

The OEM ones require registering with the car's computer in order to work (a dealer task). Would Costco's be able to be enabled in a similar manner. Not likely.
Gary ...
2005 silver/silver smart passion CDI coupe with bungee grey interior (vanity plate "SMART 65")..
2013 Mazda CX-5 GS (4 cylinder gas engine, 6-spd auto, fwd, red with tan coloured cloth seats).
Some of extras on smart: tach & clock pods, heated seats, sound upgrade, underseat storage tray, electric P/S, softtouch, steelies & Blizzak winter tires, hand controls, MDC cruise control with W/W arm control, MDC armrest, front signal lights converted to Euro-style with original signal lights running as DRLs and front side lighting converted to act only as signal repeaters (now LED), Grundig 6 CD changer, MDC ultimate window package, Scangauge II, 3-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters, Technine stage 2 remap.

#5 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 14 September 2009 - 06:15 PM

Wouldn't the computer simply recognize and take readings from the new sensors, in effect self-registering them? I can't see having to take the car to the dealership every time summer and winter rim sets, each with their own set of sensors, are switched.

#6 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 01:58 PM

If it really is just for an upgrade, why not use them on your new wheels and forget about them on the old wheels. I am also assuming that they may be lower profile tires that you are getting and those are the ones that you might want to monitor a little closer any ways.

#7 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:01 PM

If you do change them to your new wheels you may need to keep them on the same corner of the car from something I read before. By the way, tire pressure monitors are mandated, not just some whimsical manufacturer's idea.

#8 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:05 PM

If they (the valve stem transmitters) were not registered to the receiver monitor, then whose tire pressures would be read when another car passes you on the highway?

#9 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:49 PM

According to the service department, the only thing that needs to be done when swapping sensors is a reset of the TPMS which can be done by pressing the TPMS switch. A visit to the dealership is not required.

#10 mimota

mimota
  • Regular Members
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:White Rock, BC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 12:10 AM

I don't have tire pressure sensors on my winter tires. It just means the light is on. The dealership told me that it wasn't a problem.

#11 Duesouth

Duesouth
  • Regular Members
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:34 AM

according to the dealership, the sensor in my 2009 can not be turn off. and it is required. probably a pressuring tactics for sales.and here is the price for the winter package of tires here in Toronto.and wheel lock nuts are extra. I ask if they had, so that I can protect my wheels from being snatched off my car with cinder blocks under it. happen once to my previous car, never again will always use them to protect my winter tires.

Edited by Duesouth, 16 September 2009 - 11:38 AM.


#12 chris08-42

chris08-42
  • Regular Members
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

When I put the summer tires back on my 451 I used new rims and sensors. I did not have to do anything to get the car to read them - they just worked fine.We can all thank Ford and Firestone for tire pressure monitors! Remember the flipping Ford Explorer's?When I went on my 12,000 km summer trip, I carried one of the front winter tires as a spare - behind the passenger seat. No issues with that either. The signals generated by the wheel sensors is not strong enough to be read by a passing vehicle.
2008 Fortwo Pure, blue and black, AC and heated seats.

#13 danmac62

danmac62
  • Regular Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:07 AM

So have a 2008 Passion, if get new winter rims and tires do I have to get the pressure sensors? Will the car work okay without them

#14 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,474 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:32 AM

Yes, just take the bulb out of the instrument cluster if it annoys you. And check your tire pressures regularly!

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users