Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  SkydiverChris : (21 October 2014 - 01:08 PM) Or does it? I say it's a conspiracy and they've fooled everyone!
@  marchanna : (20 October 2014 - 07:23 PM) No, but I have an infrared gun that would do the job. Unfortunately ( or fortunately) the ED doesn't have an exhaust.
@  Wild! : (20 October 2014 - 05:52 PM) Has anyone out there ever taken a temp reading from the exhaust manifold on the 450?
@  Mike T : (20 October 2014 - 10:27 AM) Yes, all of the below!
@  dmoonen : (20 October 2014 - 09:04 AM) Lol perhaps his smart
@  marchanna : (20 October 2014 - 05:19 AM) Was that directed at all of us or just one very special member? :)
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:23 PM) nine ten I love you
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:23 PM) eight
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:23 PM) seven
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:23 PM) six
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:23 PM) five
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:22 PM) can I have a little more
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:22 PM) four
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:22 PM) three
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:22 PM) two
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 10:22 PM) one
@  Mike T : (17 October 2014 - 07:08 PM) bump
@  SkydiverChris : (17 October 2014 - 12:26 PM) Nope, two more. Phew...
@  SkydiverChris : (17 October 2014 - 12:25 PM) One more required?
@  SkydiverChris : (17 October 2014 - 12:25 PM) Just making a post or two because seeing the tip of that Youtube video in the chat log makes my OCD go cray, cray!

Photo

451: Are tire pressure sensors required?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 brd

brd
  • Regular Members
  • 510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GTA

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:31 PM

I'm looking to upgrade the factory rims on my 2009 cabrio. Is it necessary to install the smart tire pressure sensors on the new rims? These things cost ~$100 each which is pretty ridiculous. And their only purpose is to meet US preferences (they are not installed in Europe).If not having them installed means having some stupid warning on the dashboard I can live with that. But if means that the car will go into some sort of limp mode due to the warning thats another story.Any insight or experience out there with this?thanks

#2 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,804 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:44 PM

Should be OK and maybe you could remove the bulb.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, plan to restore 201066_5.png


#3 Talgas

Talgas
  • Regular Members
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonton, AB

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

If you really want the sensors but want to pay less they have them at the Costco Tire Shop for ~$65 each. Still too expensive for me on my winter tires.... so I just live with the light. There's no adverse effect or anything (no limp mode), just the light on the dash.
2008 Passion Coupe: Blue w/ Silver Tridion, Fog Lights/Pods, Scangauge and Area451 Cruise

#4 smart65

smart65
  • Regular Members
  • 1,044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:25 AM

The OEM ones require registering with the car's computer in order to work (a dealer task). Would Costco's be able to be enabled in a similar manner. Not likely.
Gary ...
2005 silver/silver smart passion CDI coupe with bungee grey interior (vanity plate "SMART 65")..
2013 Mazda CX-5 GS (4 cylinder gas engine, 6-spd auto, fwd, red with tan coloured cloth seats).
Some of extras on smart: tach & clock pods, heated seats, sound upgrade, underseat storage tray, electric P/S, softtouch, steelies & Blizzak winter tires, hand controls, MDC cruise control with W/W arm control, MDC armrest, front signal lights converted to Euro-style with original signal lights running as DRLs and front side lighting converted to act only as signal repeaters (now LED), Grundig 6 CD changer, MDC ultimate window package, Scangauge II, 3-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters, Technine stage 2 remap.

#5 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 518 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 14 September 2009 - 06:15 PM

Wouldn't the computer simply recognize and take readings from the new sensors, in effect self-registering them? I can't see having to take the car to the dealership every time summer and winter rim sets, each with their own set of sensors, are switched.

#6 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 01:58 PM

If it really is just for an upgrade, why not use them on your new wheels and forget about them on the old wheels. I am also assuming that they may be lower profile tires that you are getting and those are the ones that you might want to monitor a little closer any ways.

#7 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:01 PM

If you do change them to your new wheels you may need to keep them on the same corner of the car from something I read before. By the way, tire pressure monitors are mandated, not just some whimsical manufacturer's idea.

#8 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:05 PM

If they (the valve stem transmitters) were not registered to the receiver monitor, then whose tire pressures would be read when another car passes you on the highway?

#9 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 518 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:49 PM

According to the service department, the only thing that needs to be done when swapping sensors is a reset of the TPMS which can be done by pressing the TPMS switch. A visit to the dealership is not required.

#10 mimota

mimota
  • Regular Members
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:White Rock, BC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 12:10 AM

I don't have tire pressure sensors on my winter tires. It just means the light is on. The dealership told me that it wasn't a problem.

#11 Duesouth

Duesouth
  • Regular Members
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:34 AM

according to the dealership, the sensor in my 2009 can not be turn off. and it is required. probably a pressuring tactics for sales.and here is the price for the winter package of tires here in Toronto.and wheel lock nuts are extra. I ask if they had, so that I can protect my wheels from being snatched off my car with cinder blocks under it. happen once to my previous car, never again will always use them to protect my winter tires.

Edited by Duesouth, 16 September 2009 - 11:38 AM.


#12 chris08-42

chris08-42
  • Regular Members
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

When I put the summer tires back on my 451 I used new rims and sensors. I did not have to do anything to get the car to read them - they just worked fine.We can all thank Ford and Firestone for tire pressure monitors! Remember the flipping Ford Explorer's?When I went on my 12,000 km summer trip, I carried one of the front winter tires as a spare - behind the passenger seat. No issues with that either. The signals generated by the wheel sensors is not strong enough to be read by a passing vehicle.
2008 Fortwo Pure, blue and black, AC and heated seats.

#13 danmac62

danmac62
  • Regular Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:07 AM

So have a 2008 Passion, if get new winter rims and tires do I have to get the pressure sensors? Will the car work okay without them

#14 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,804 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:32 AM

Yes, just take the bulb out of the instrument cluster if it annoys you. And check your tire pressures regularly!

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, plan to restore 201066_5.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users