Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Mike T : (24 March 2015 - 06:21 PM) If they and you are sure of the diagnosis, it's a good idea to go ahead.
@  Chicklet : (24 March 2015 - 11:21 AM) Love my little car but lately has a big appetite on expensive parts! Haha
@  Chicklet : (24 March 2015 - 11:20 AM) This question is about the oil pump chain problem from a couple of days ago. Heard that the sound(a chain sort of rattle when you let off the accelerator) could also be from the clutch plate. Does this sound like something that is a possibility. MB in Nanaimo wants about $2200.00 to change the oil pump change. Just trying to get a little more feed back on others who have had some same issues.
@  Bessy : (24 March 2015 - 11:16 AM) Hey!
@  Chicklet : (24 March 2015 - 11:15 AM) Hi
@  dmoonen : (22 March 2015 - 05:52 PM) Mhm the turbo does sounds off. . like its saying help me.
@  Mike T : (22 March 2015 - 12:18 PM) Yeah it is whistling too much due to the bent fin.
@  David_18 : (22 March 2015 - 12:13 PM) Just a lot of whistle for me.
@  kdubya : (22 March 2015 - 12:11 PM) hmmmm, sounds like mine.....maybe I should check. :( I did hear a buzzing I think. Is that what you meant?
@  David_18 : (22 March 2015 - 12:01 PM) Listen :)
@  David_18 : (22 March 2015 - 12:00 PM) Nothing related with the starting problem. It just make more sound than usual.
@  kdubya : (22 March 2015 - 11:50 AM) If its been like that for a while and works great what makes you think something is wrong with it now?
@  David_18 : (22 March 2015 - 11:48 AM) I know, it is like that since 4-5 years, but it still work great.
@  Mike T : (22 March 2015 - 11:41 AM) Yup that turbo has eaten something, very nasty!
@  kdubya : (22 March 2015 - 11:29 AM) somethings def wrong. That's how the turbo looks in my parts car that had an oil pump failure. And it looks like one of your fins are bent
@  David_18 : (22 March 2015 - 10:34 AM) I think something wrong with my turbo... https://lh4.googleus...0322_133347.jpg
@  Francesco : (22 March 2015 - 08:35 AM) gawd I hate that stuff. She gets it done every year. And her 12 yr old car w/60k has more signs of rust than our 13 yr old Accord w/160k that's never been rust treated.
@  Francesco : (22 March 2015 - 08:33 AM) "Rust proofing" places do worse. Mom's Corolla was overheating last summer. Popped the hood, there was a half inch of black (commercial) rust-proof spray on both sides of her rad.
@  dmoonen : (21 March 2015 - 03:14 PM) Which is still a pain . . and alllllllot of time
@  Francesco : (21 March 2015 - 01:33 PM) You need a cooling fin comb
@  dmoonen : (21 March 2015 - 01:24 PM) Yeah it flattens the fins causing over heating conditions. . . Not ideal
@  Mike T : (21 March 2015 - 09:57 AM) never use high pressure washers on a radiator or intercooler!
@  Msdumo : (21 March 2015 - 09:50 AM) msdumo, a newbie trying out shout
@  Clancy : (21 March 2015 - 08:29 AM) When I got my smart everything was clean & shiny behind the grill at 9000 Km. Now at 12000 Km it is dirty & grimey from the road. Is it OK to take off the front grill & spray shampoo & rinse there at the coin-op?
@  RoadHound : (21 March 2015 - 06:01 AM) http://www.amazon.co...Z3rL&ref=plSrch
@  RoadHound : (21 March 2015 - 05:59 AM) Found this on amazon and I don't know where to put it. http://www.amazon.co...a9LL&ref=plSrch
@  Chicklet : (20 March 2015 - 03:25 PM) Thanks, that good information. Will check it out.
@  Mike T : (20 March 2015 - 12:01 PM) OK with that further information I suspect the oil pump drive chain. Take the oil filter out, cut it open and look for metal flakes inside.
@  Chicklet : (20 March 2015 - 11:49 AM) Thanks Mike T for responding. It almost sounds more grinding/clicking like a chain having too much play. Never gearing up just when slowing or gearing down. Could there be filing in the transmission or low on fluid do this. Would a transmission flush be the first coarse of action. Thanks for your thoughts.
@  Mike T : (19 March 2015 - 07:46 PM) I am thinking of an exhaust leak.
@  Chicklet : (19 March 2015 - 03:34 PM) Sorry posted before I could say what the problem is. When my car shifts down it sounds like jake brakes on a large truck going sown hill( maybe not that loud thought) This occurs when I let off the gas. Doesn't sound good. I do not have problems shifting or anything just noisy when it shifts down. Could transmission fluid be low?
@  Chicklet : (19 March 2015 - 03:29 PM) Its been awhile since I have been here, but I having an issue not sure where i should start without incurring undo exspensive.
@  Chicklet : (19 March 2015 - 03:28 PM) Hi,

Photo

451: Are tire pressure sensors required?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 brd

brd
  • Regular Members
  • 510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GTA

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:31 PM

I'm looking to upgrade the factory rims on my 2009 cabrio. Is it necessary to install the smart tire pressure sensors on the new rims? These things cost ~$100 each which is pretty ridiculous. And their only purpose is to meet US preferences (they are not installed in Europe).If not having them installed means having some stupid warning on the dashboard I can live with that. But if means that the car will go into some sort of limp mode due to the warning thats another story.Any insight or experience out there with this?thanks

#2 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:44 PM

Should be OK and maybe you could remove the bulb.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, plan to restore 201066_5.png


#3 Talgas

Talgas
  • Regular Members
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonton, AB

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

If you really want the sensors but want to pay less they have them at the Costco Tire Shop for ~$65 each. Still too expensive for me on my winter tires.... so I just live with the light. There's no adverse effect or anything (no limp mode), just the light on the dash.
2008 Passion Coupe: Blue w/ Silver Tridion, Fog Lights/Pods, Scangauge and Area451 Cruise

#4 smart65

smart65
  • Regular Members
  • 1,060 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:25 AM

The OEM ones require registering with the car's computer in order to work (a dealer task). Would Costco's be able to be enabled in a similar manner. Not likely.
Gary ...
2005 silver/silver smart passion CDI coupe with bungee grey interior (vanity plate "SMART 65")..
2013 Mazda CX-5 GS (4 cylinder gas engine, 6-spd auto, fwd, red with tan coloured cloth seats).
Some of extras on smart: tach & clock pods, heated seats, sound upgrade, underseat storage tray, electric P/S, softtouch, steelies & Blizzak winter tires, hand controls, MDC cruise control with W/W arm control, MDC armrest, front signal lights converted to Euro-style with original signal lights running as DRLs and front side lighting converted to act only as signal repeaters (now LED), Grundig 6 CD changer, MDC ultimate window package, Scangauge II, 3-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters, Technine stage 2 remap.

#5 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 14 September 2009 - 06:15 PM

Wouldn't the computer simply recognize and take readings from the new sensors, in effect self-registering them? I can't see having to take the car to the dealership every time summer and winter rim sets, each with their own set of sensors, are switched.

#6 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 01:58 PM

If it really is just for an upgrade, why not use them on your new wheels and forget about them on the old wheels. I am also assuming that they may be lower profile tires that you are getting and those are the ones that you might want to monitor a little closer any ways.

#7 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:01 PM

If you do change them to your new wheels you may need to keep them on the same corner of the car from something I read before. By the way, tire pressure monitors are mandated, not just some whimsical manufacturer's idea.

#8 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:05 PM

If they (the valve stem transmitters) were not registered to the receiver monitor, then whose tire pressures would be read when another car passes you on the highway?

#9 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 519 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:49 PM

According to the service department, the only thing that needs to be done when swapping sensors is a reset of the TPMS which can be done by pressing the TPMS switch. A visit to the dealership is not required.

#10 mimota

mimota
  • Regular Members
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:White Rock, BC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 12:10 AM

I don't have tire pressure sensors on my winter tires. It just means the light is on. The dealership told me that it wasn't a problem.

#11 Duesouth

Duesouth
  • Regular Members
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:34 AM

according to the dealership, the sensor in my 2009 can not be turn off. and it is required. probably a pressuring tactics for sales.and here is the price for the winter package of tires here in Toronto.and wheel lock nuts are extra. I ask if they had, so that I can protect my wheels from being snatched off my car with cinder blocks under it. happen once to my previous car, never again will always use them to protect my winter tires.

Edited by Duesouth, 16 September 2009 - 11:38 AM.


#12 chris08-42

chris08-42
  • Regular Members
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

When I put the summer tires back on my 451 I used new rims and sensors. I did not have to do anything to get the car to read them - they just worked fine.We can all thank Ford and Firestone for tire pressure monitors! Remember the flipping Ford Explorer's?When I went on my 12,000 km summer trip, I carried one of the front winter tires as a spare - behind the passenger seat. No issues with that either. The signals generated by the wheel sensors is not strong enough to be read by a passing vehicle.
2008 Fortwo Pure, blue and black, AC and heated seats.

#13 danmac62

danmac62
  • Regular Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:07 AM

So have a 2008 Passion, if get new winter rims and tires do I have to get the pressure sensors? Will the car work okay without them

#14 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,214 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:32 AM

Yes, just take the bulb out of the instrument cluster if it annoys you. And check your tire pressures regularly!

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, plan to restore 201066_5.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users