Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  KurtMan : (30 September 2014 - 12:49 PM) It was in fact the PY21 bulb that was burnt, the Canadian Tire associate insisted his computer system was correct and gave me 7528 bulbs. So I will return the bulbs and educate him when I return ��
@  stickman007 : (29 September 2014 - 02:29 PM) I bought a set of triple square from Mac Tools...the only one I ever use was 8mm for the CV
@  Francesco : (29 September 2014 - 09:16 AM) Yeah, ok. Buddy brought over his wife's 2000 Beetle TDI for a detail and I wanted to adjust the doors, but the strikers and hinges both had triple square bolts.
@  dmoonen : (29 September 2014 - 09:01 AM) Had to buy a couple sets for working on my vw's, basicly bbs rims, axels and a outher parts require them including the injector pump on the ALH's. I don't think there's a single one on the smarts that I recall mostly torx, etorx and standard sockets.
@  dmoonen : (29 September 2014 - 08:59 AM) VW need them but smarts no so much
@  Francesco : (29 September 2014 - 08:41 AM) I never noticed, does the 450 use any triple-square bolts? Does the 451? The set will be handy for when I work on Dubs, but was wondering about smarts, too.
@  Francesco : (28 September 2014 - 09:38 PM) The turn signal bulb? Or the bulb that would normally go in the empty BA15s socket below the top brake lamp? The TS is PY21W or P21W, while the one in the empty socket is R5W (207), a 5 Watt bulb. Note than on Canadian 450s that socket isn't connected to any power or earth.
@  KurtMan : (28 September 2014 - 06:00 PM) Thanks guys, I forgot to say it's a 450.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (28 September 2014 - 05:37 PM) WHich is a yellow bulb, despite being behind a red lens
@  FlossyTheSmart : (28 September 2014 - 05:36 PM) Oh, missed the lower break light correction. I think that is a PY21W
@  FlossyTheSmart : (28 September 2014 - 05:32 PM) I want to say P21W - I was just changing bulbs on my cabrio yesterday and it's actually on the plastic casing what bulbs are meant to go there - that's what I remember. I'm sure Evilution will have it there somewhere too.
@  marchanna : (28 September 2014 - 03:07 PM) I'm not sure if 450's are the same
@  marchanna : (28 September 2014 - 03:07 PM) On 451 models it's a 7528
@  marchanna : (28 September 2014 - 03:03 PM) What year?
@  KurtMan : (28 September 2014 - 02:52 PM) *I should specify lower break light.
@  KurtMan : (28 September 2014 - 02:48 PM) Does anyone know what the bulb type is in the lower part of a cabrio tail light?
@  amr530711 : (27 September 2014 - 02:16 PM) it's got a hard short on the black cable running from the positive post to the rear of the car - does that connect to the starter or to the alternator? This car seems to eat alternators, and the blackout happened at roughly the same time as the alternator would kick in, just a couple of seconds after moving forward.
@  stickman007 : (27 September 2014 - 01:52 PM) Check your connection at the battery terminals? I think somebody here in the forum had the battery cable melted once...
@  amr530711 : (27 September 2014 - 11:55 AM) hey everyone! I'm having a hard time with the new search, I'm looking for information about a total electrical failure. I started the car, drove about 50 feet, it bucked, the instrument cluster went out, back on, then completely off. and now I have no electrics at all. no four way flashers, can't roll up the window, car won't lock, absolutely nothing happens when I turn the key. Not sure what words to use in the search. any help would be appreciated
@  Francesco : (27 September 2014 - 07:10 AM) And a whole set of triple square bits off Amazon for $25. SnapOn rep said they're special order, and each bit is close to $30!!!

Photo

451: Are tire pressure sensors required?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 brd

brd
  • Regular Members
  • 510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GTA

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:31 PM

I'm looking to upgrade the factory rims on my 2009 cabrio. Is it necessary to install the smart tire pressure sensors on the new rims? These things cost ~$100 each which is pretty ridiculous. And their only purpose is to meet US preferences (they are not installed in Europe).If not having them installed means having some stupid warning on the dashboard I can live with that. But if means that the car will go into some sort of limp mode due to the warning thats another story.Any insight or experience out there with this?thanks

#2 Mike T

Mike T

    Ordered our first smart in 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 30 March 2009 - 07:44 PM

Should be OK and maybe you could remove the bulb.
2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet 450 B-remap
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A pkg, Winter pkg.
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection

#3 Talgas

Talgas
  • Regular Members
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Edmonton, AB

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:07 AM

If you really want the sensors but want to pay less they have them at the Costco Tire Shop for ~$65 each. Still too expensive for me on my winter tires.... so I just live with the light. There's no adverse effect or anything (no limp mode), just the light on the dash.
2008 Passion Coupe: Blue w/ Silver Tridion, Fog Lights/Pods, Scangauge and Area451 Cruise

#4 smart65

smart65
  • Regular Members
  • 1,043 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted 31 March 2009 - 06:25 AM

The OEM ones require registering with the car's computer in order to work (a dealer task). Would Costco's be able to be enabled in a similar manner. Not likely.
Gary ...
2005 silver/silver smart passion CDI coupe with bungee grey interior (vanity plate "SMART 65")..
2013 Mazda CX-5 GS (4 cylinder gas engine, 6-spd auto, fwd, red with tan coloured cloth seats).
Some of extras on smart: tach & clock pods, heated seats, sound upgrade, underseat storage tray, electric P/S, softtouch, steelies & Blizzak winter tires, hand controls, MDC cruise control with W/W arm control, MDC armrest, front signal lights converted to Euro-style with original signal lights running as DRLs and front side lighting converted to act only as signal repeaters (now LED), Grundig 6 CD changer, MDC ultimate window package, Scangauge II, 3-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters, Technine stage 2 remap.

#5 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 518 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 14 September 2009 - 06:15 PM

Wouldn't the computer simply recognize and take readings from the new sensors, in effect self-registering them? I can't see having to take the car to the dealership every time summer and winter rim sets, each with their own set of sensors, are switched.

#6 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 01:58 PM

If it really is just for an upgrade, why not use them on your new wheels and forget about them on the old wheels. I am also assuming that they may be lower profile tires that you are getting and those are the ones that you might want to monitor a little closer any ways.

#7 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:01 PM

If you do change them to your new wheels you may need to keep them on the same corner of the car from something I read before. By the way, tire pressure monitors are mandated, not just some whimsical manufacturer's idea.

#8 gordo.bernard

gordo.bernard
  • Regular Members
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maidstone, Ontario

Posted 15 September 2009 - 02:05 PM

If they (the valve stem transmitters) were not registered to the receiver monitor, then whose tire pressures would be read when another car passes you on the highway?

#9 quirky1

quirky1
  • Regular Members
  • 518 posts
  • Location:Vancouver BC Canada

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:49 PM

According to the service department, the only thing that needs to be done when swapping sensors is a reset of the TPMS which can be done by pressing the TPMS switch. A visit to the dealership is not required.

#10 mimota

mimota
  • Regular Members
  • 117 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:White Rock, BC

Posted 16 September 2009 - 12:10 AM

I don't have tire pressure sensors on my winter tires. It just means the light is on. The dealership told me that it wasn't a problem.

#11 Duesouth

Duesouth
  • Regular Members
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:34 AM

according to the dealership, the sensor in my 2009 can not be turn off. and it is required. probably a pressuring tactics for sales.and here is the price for the winter package of tires here in Toronto.and wheel lock nuts are extra. I ask if they had, so that I can protect my wheels from being snatched off my car with cinder blocks under it. happen once to my previous car, never again will always use them to protect my winter tires.

Edited by Duesouth, 16 September 2009 - 11:38 AM.


#12 chris08-42

chris08-42
  • Regular Members
  • 73 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

When I put the summer tires back on my 451 I used new rims and sensors. I did not have to do anything to get the car to read them - they just worked fine.We can all thank Ford and Firestone for tire pressure monitors! Remember the flipping Ford Explorer's?When I went on my 12,000 km summer trip, I carried one of the front winter tires as a spare - behind the passenger seat. No issues with that either. The signals generated by the wheel sensors is not strong enough to be read by a passing vehicle.
2008 Fortwo Pure, blue and black, AC and heated seats.

#13 danmac62

danmac62
  • Regular Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:07 AM

So have a 2008 Passion, if get new winter rims and tires do I have to get the pressure sensors? Will the car work okay without them

#14 Mike T

Mike T

    Ordered our first smart in 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,725 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 19 September 2011 - 11:32 AM

Yes, just take the bulb out of the instrument cluster if it annoys you. And check your tire pressures regularly!
2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet 450 B-remap
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A pkg, Winter pkg.
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users