Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Mike T : (29 August 2015 - 07:33 AM) I've no idea! Sorry, I rarely went there anyway. I think they had "issues". Driving to Banff today in the rain in prep for a 290 km bike ride from Jasper to Banff. Cheers
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 11:24 PM) Ah. Just found Martin's tweet from January, but its link is dead so I have no details of why the club was dissolved
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:49 PM) Hey Mike, what happened to CsQ? I haven't logged in in over a year, but it seems the lights aren't on...?
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:39 PM) keep you eyes on the classifieds here, SCoA and CsQ, as well as Kijiji. Deals on rims pop up from time to time.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:36 PM) and yes, you'll find even with a one inch drop there is plenty of arch gap. I'm -1.25 in the front and -1.4 out back and it could go lower (but would drive balls). I hate the useless stanced look.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:34 PM) Figure a good $1400 or more to your door.
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 10:33 PM) Ouch. The shipping will be more than the (discounted) 19% VAT, and then you'll likely get a collect bill from Canada Post for GST/PST and duties.
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:15 PM) I found these: http://www.rs-parts....r-smart450.html
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:15 PM) Question: With the lowered springs (Eibach, 25mm), can I still put a set of 16" on my limousine?
@  Surturiel : (28 August 2015 - 05:14 PM) I'll see what I can do...
@  Francesco : (28 August 2015 - 08:56 AM) Check with Fast Eddy to see if he'll rent you the correct tool for cheap.
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:43 PM) (like copper or aluminium)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:43 PM) I'll try with something hard, but not as hard as steel
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:42 PM) tolsen has posted about it before. Personally I thought a couple hours of tinkering was time better spent elsewhere, and the $50 for the tool well spent
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:41 PM) you need a hardwood, soft won't do
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:41 PM) no worries, got the idea
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:40 PM) the hole being the exact size of the rod, not the disc. Sorry about the syntax
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:39 PM) A wooden clamp would work well. Drill a hole in a wooden disc the exact size of the strut rod's diameter, then cut the disc in half and add flats
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:13 PM) leather is too soft, as is rubber. I was thinking about either copper wire wound around the strut or tinfoil. and a vise Grip
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:11 PM) An old leather belt might work better, but I had no luck with it
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:10 PM) (I was thinking about a vise grip and tinfoil. you know, tinfoil is aluminum, and can potentailly protect the shock, and a vbise grip is FAR more useful than the clamp, but this is me trying to Mcgiver a solution, as usual...)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:07 PM) ah, ok, then
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:06 PM) The strut spins freely, you need the special clamping tool to provide flats for a big open ended wrench (with this tool 47 mm)
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:03 PM) Can't I use LOTS of wd40, a t47 bit and a breaker bar?
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 02:01 PM) The strut clamp is a necessity. Worth every cent I paid -- making something similar myself would have taken me more time than I'd like to spend in order to save the few bucks.
@  Surturiel : (27 August 2015 - 02:00 PM) c'mon! I'll use twine. And optimism.
@  Francesco : (27 August 2015 - 01:59 PM) I honestly didn't need them on the broken spring, and while handy for the lowering springs, not necessary.
@  dmoonen : (27 August 2015 - 08:06 AM) Spring compresssors are still needed. .Tolson why must you take the hard way to everything
@  Surturiel : (26 August 2015 - 03:59 PM) nah, the springs are broken, and I can use the ye old zip-tie trick. But since I'm going to put eibachs (-25mm) I won't worry.]
@  tolsen : (26 August 2015 - 03:43 PM) Clamp type spring compressors should not be used since the damage both protective coating and spring.
@  dmoonen : (26 August 2015 - 11:27 AM) The spring compressors you can borrow at Canadian tire
@  dmoonen : (26 August 2015 - 11:27 AM) I have the Mercedes strut clamp you can borrow just pay shipping and if you break it you buy it. Pm me
@  Surturiel : (26 August 2015 - 08:51 AM) thanks, guys! And... does anyone in Vancouver area have the clamp so I can "rent"?
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 06:43 PM) To and from SK*. I'm just waiting on some bits to finish the Golf build
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 06:41 PM) Still driving it, drove it to and from and average 4.7l/100l loaded to the brim.
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 06:19 PM) Dillen how much did you end up getting for the wagon?
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:13 PM) And if replacing the plastic bellows (dust boots) on the struts, cut a good 1.5" off the bottoms of them or they'll just compress around the stops and get in the way of the clamp tool
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:11 PM) also, take a new knife blade and cut about an inch off the bump stops unless you love bottoming out on small bumps.
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:09 PM) wont need it for the Eibachs
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 05:09 PM) If the springs are broken at the top as suspected, the spring compressor might not be necessary.
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:49 PM) And a normal spring compressor
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:46 PM) Strut clamp tool*
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 04:46 PM) Lots of penetrating oil on the top nut and see if you can borrow a strut tool of you don't have the proper air tools
@  Surturiel : (25 August 2015 - 01:08 PM) Now, let's see if I can replace them without getting myself killed...
@  Surturiel : (25 August 2015 - 01:07 PM) Got the Eibach springs!
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 12:29 PM) Lol
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 10:18 AM) ok, maybe MikeT
@  Francesco : (25 August 2015 - 10:18 AM) Who doesn't? Hehehe
@  dmoonen : (25 August 2015 - 07:46 AM) sounds like you have a decent to do list. .
@  Surturiel : (23 August 2015 - 08:00 PM) Perhaps even throw a set of powerflex purple bushings, and a set of 16" "space" wheels, but not now...)

Photo

ESP Light On and Off (on my 450)


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 13 October 2009 - 04:47 PM

My ESP warning light came on steady this morning after I accelerated from a traffic light, slight incline, wet roads. It felt like the tires may have spun a bit on acceleration. I pulled over a half a block later and turned off the ignition, waited a few seconds, then did an unlock (as if to clear the immobilizer-not sure if that would help...). Car started, light was not on. I drove to work for 45 minutes, no events. I started the car to return home and the ESP light was on again. I tried the same reset twice on my drive home but the light remained on. I got into my garage, and tried another reset, but this time, I waited a minute before I did an unlock. After about 30 secs I heard a relay click (from the SAM) and then I did the unlock and started it with no light.I realize that the ESP should come on and flash when activated, is this steady light just a hiccup? Any thoughts or experiences with same problem?Thanks!Rod
Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#2 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:08 PM

Dirty or rusty reluctor rings? Begin by reading through THIS THREAD HTH, Bil :sun:
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#3 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:13 PM

It's not normal.....hard to say what it is. If it was wet up there today, it could be the brake light switch is shorting out. Next time the ESP light is on, check if the brake lights work.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png


#4 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:28 PM

I checked the reluctor rings a couple of weeks ago. I bit of minor surface corrosion, but otherwise, look fine. Maybe they are dirty or some wet leaves go jammed in there...if possible. I will check this and the brake lights next time this happens. BTW, no fault codes on the ScanGauge, no associated ABS or Brake lights. Thanks Gents.
Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#5 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:42 PM

The ScanGauge only reads engine faults, not any other type of faults (transmission for example).My money is on the brake light switch as the culprit.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png


#6 Francesco

Francesco

    CsC BoD Member

  • Directors
  • 6,061 posts
  • Location:West Island of Montreal

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:48 PM

ESP faults won't log in the OBD, but rather on the CAN Bus. It can be pulled up by a Star Diagnostic computer.But you say you have a ScanGauge. Sometimes the OBD connector or the RJ-45 on the SG cable can cause trouble; make sure they are fully seated. I had this issue a while ago.
Francesco

2006 fortwo cdi pulse cabrio phat red/silver/heated leather/PLUS/sound mods Tempomat/Cabriotec glass rear window/custom red silicone cdi TIK/all-LED EU pulse lamps front & rear/mud-flaps/garage opener/wiper nozzle/SGII/remap/spin-on filter/K&N air/RS grille/de dion caps/Micro DE fogs/sucker/LED angel eyes/stainless EGR delete/RS paddles/HEL braided brake lines/Bilstein B14 PSS coil-overs/PowerFlex bushings/Michalak 16" wheels coming up Blindy/custom brakes/torque damper/Morimoto

#7 Duck

Duck

    Crazy Quacker

  • Regular Members
  • 9,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:50 PM

If the steering wheel angle sensor goes out of alignment too it will throw a fault. I had this issue after I hit a pretty big pothole, it was enough to throw something out of whack in the alignment and the ESP fritzed out. Once I had the car's steering re-aligned, they recalibrated the angle sensor and it was all good.(ESP factors in the angle of the steering wheel to figure out the angular velocity difference between the inside and outside wheels)-Iain
2006 smart fortwo cdi Nosedive.... Back up and running!
2010 Toyota Gen3 Prius Normandy (N7) - Hybrid Synergy Drive active!

#8 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 13 October 2009 - 06:02 PM

Great pointers guys :D Thank you! I just tried it in the garage and everything is normal...will see how long this lasts.

Edited by campbellriverpassion, 13 October 2009 - 06:03 PM.

Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#9 ETHICAL BEEF

ETHICAL BEEF
  • Regular Members
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bayfield,Ontario

Posted 13 October 2009 - 06:13 PM

My 450 did nearly the same thing in August 09 Failed @ 67,000 km's and I've only driven it through one winter (Bought used @ 21,000 k)First the ESP light came on. Then it was a combination of ESP and ABS warning lights.They wouldn't come on until over 50 KPH.I drove this way for a few weeks and then the engine light came on.Scan Gauge showed a PO-500 ABS Brake FailureCalled Harald @ Parts4smarts and got two new reluctor rings and did a DIY ring change.I had previously cleaned the reluctor rings with emery cloth and couldn't see the cracks...they don't have to be very BIG to send it all whacko!A cracked ring would be my first choice. Both the rings in this "pic" are cracked ...one is obvious the other is not!E.B.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Smart_Reluctor_ring_replace_015.jpg

Edited by ETHICAL BEEF, 13 October 2009 - 06:21 PM.


#10 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 13 October 2009 - 06:40 PM

Thanks E.B. I will have to order a set of rings just in case. My car only has 25,000 kms and it's lived on the "Wet" Coast. From the thread from Bil above, seems like you will see both ABS and ESP lights on when the rings are corroded/cracked. Strange that I am not getting the ABS light. Also, nothing normal occurred up to 90 km/hr. Maybe steering wheel angle position sensor as Iain suggests.
Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#11 robm

robm
  • Regular Members
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Uxbridge, ON

Posted 14 October 2009 - 02:07 AM

Thanks E.B. I will have to order a set of rings just in case. My car only has 25,000 kms and it's lived on the "Wet" Coast. From the thread from Bil above, seems like you will see both ABS and ESP lights on when the rings are corroded/cracked. Strange that I am not getting the ABS light. Also, nothing normal occurred up to 90 km/hr. Maybe steering wheel angle position sensor as Iain suggests.

I thought the problem with mine was the rings as well but MB said no. they only fixed the elect box under warrenty. Make sure you have that work carried out.
2005 black/black pure

#12 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 14 October 2009 - 06:53 AM

What was wrong with the electrical box (SAM)? What did they replace/fix?
Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#13 robm

robm
  • Regular Members
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Uxbridge, ON

Posted 14 October 2009 - 08:23 AM

What was wrong with the electrical box (SAM)? What did they replace/fix?

the warrenty work is to move it to help keep it dry. Not sure if they did any further work - I did not get charged for additional work. We will see if I have the same problem this winter - I hope not because this car without ESP you need to be careful.
2005 black/black pure

#14 fast316

fast316
  • Regular Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 14 October 2009 - 02:26 PM

There have been a couple recalls in regards to water getting at the stop lamp switch. Check and make sure all thsoe have been performed. I'd suspect the stop lamp switch.

#15 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 14 October 2009 - 03:35 PM

the warranty work is to move it to help keep it dry. Not sure if they did any further work - I did not get charged for additional work. We will see if I have the same problem this winter - I hope not because this car without ESP you need to be careful.

I am certain that was not the SAM that was moved. That would be one hell of a job. It would be the "Canada" electrical box that used to reside in the battery well that was moved, and it does control the brake lights so a fault there could explain this problem.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png


#16 campbellriverpassion

campbellriverpassion
  • Regular Members
  • 64 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chilliwack, BC

Posted 14 October 2009 - 04:14 PM

I am certain that was not the SAM that was moved. That would be one hell of a job. It would be the "Canada" electrical box that used to reside in the battery well that was moved, and it does control the brake lights so a fault there could explain this problem.

Mike, where did they move the electrical box to? What is housed in there specific to the brake light system? Relay? Apparently, the brake switch has two sets of contacts, one for the lights, the other for the ECU. So it is possible that the brake lights work with one set of good contacts with the other set faulty. Gosh, I wish I had a wiring diagram for all systems on this car! From Evilution: http://www.evilution...ndex.php?id=663
Additive: Stanadyne Performance FormulaŽ

#17 robm

robm
  • Regular Members
  • 365 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Uxbridge, ON

Posted 14 October 2009 - 05:53 PM

I am certain that was not the SAM that was moved. That would be one hell of a job. It would be the "Canada" electrical box that used to reside in the battery well that was moved, and it does control the brake lights so a fault there could explain this problem.

that is right. I am hoping that fixed my "ABS/ESP lights" on issue. it has been fine since MB Markham did that recall/warrenty work but we will see this winter.
2005 black/black pure

#18 Mike T

Mike T

    We pre-ordered our first smart in July 2002!

  • Directors
  • 28,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 14 October 2009 - 07:24 PM

The Canada box is relocated to the toebaord at the front of the tridion above/behind the foam block.

2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet, FlyingTiger map 380023_5.png
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A and Winter packages 542252_5.png
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200 5 speed, other goodies 206221_5.png
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection, in restoration (2016) 201066_5.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users