Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 07:07 PM) fair enough
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 07:02 PM) It's certainly not concerning enough to put any man-hours into it.
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 07:01 PM) True, but if the moderator didn't approve it then it would be deleted and the space would be reclaimed. The issue of bandwidth however still remains, and I don't know if that is an issue or not.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 06:56 PM) If you needed moderator approval, the image would still have to be uploaded and the space would still be taken up ;)  But we're not really that close to the limit anyway.  The inability to mass upload a huge number of pictures all at once though is naturally slowing the rate at which we fill up though.
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 06:53 PM) Maybe for the time being having a moderator approval for all uploaded images to ensure space isn't exceeded.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 06:53 PM) but of course, any time you upload an image to the site, you should be able to re-add it to later posts, using the "my media" button in the editor.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 06:52 PM) nice***
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 06:52 PM) A gallery is an option, but would require more server space for sure. We don't have a huge amount of storage right now, and not having a photo gallery is probably keeping us from filling up instantly. I agree it would be ice.
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 06:49 PM) I'm not terribly concerned with posting pics in the shout box. It would be nice alternatively to have a photo album that pics can be uploaded to, so that when we link images to posts there are permanent on the site and don't get lost when the source is shut down or hat not
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 06:21 PM) well yeah, but that's not necessarily intuitive.
@  Francesco : (19 September 2014 - 06:20 PM) even the regular interface allows BBCode including the[img] tag
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 05:58 PM) and clicking the icon next to chat with members opens a new window, which, as Francesco pointed out, is a pop-up. Not sure what else could happen.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (19 September 2014 - 05:57 PM) Yeah, the shoutbox isn't supposed to be anything permanent, so you can't upload images through it. If you go into the full shoutbox interface (Via the icon next to chat with members or the tab at the top), you should be able to throw in an image that you've already uploaded to the site. Ultimately, shoutbox shouldn't reaalllyy be used for sharing pictures.
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 05:07 PM) I'll give a try on Firefox later
@  Francesco : (19 September 2014 - 05:05 PM) i don't have Safari for Windows, but it works as a popup on Cr, Fx and IE
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 05:05 PM) I thought maybe the image was too big
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 05:04 PM) I suppose, but it's not very useful or convenient
@  Francesco : (19 September 2014 - 05:04 PM) you have to use BBCode in Shoutbox, so you'd have to save the image somewhere online and link to it.
@  Francesco : (19 September 2014 - 05:03 PM) but that *is* a popup
@  marchanna : (19 September 2014 - 04:58 PM) apparently you can't paste a whole screen shot in shout box either

Photo

How to diagnose these transmission codes?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 atikovi

atikovi
  • Regular Members
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Suburban Washington DC

Posted 09 December 2009 - 05:52 PM

I pulled the following current code: P2033 Overcurrent cutout in transmission at a duty cycle>0 and these two stored codes: P2056 Actual position of turning angle sensor plausibility and P202A Gear cannot be engaged when clutch is closed. If I erase them, they will come back in 10 or 20 miles and the gear indicator goes to 3 dashes. Any suggestions where to look first?

#2 tolsen

tolsen
  • Regular Members
  • 1,888 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banchory, Scotland

Posted 10 December 2009 - 01:42 AM

I pulled the following current code: P2033 Overcurrent cutout in transmission at a duty cycle>0 and these two stored codes: P2056 Actual position of turning angle sensor plausibility and P202A Gear cannot be engaged when clutch is closed. If I erase them, they will come back in 10 or 20 miles and the gear indicator goes to 3 dashes. Any suggestions where to look first?

Check connectors to gear change motor and gear position sensor. Get someone that has Win-star or MB Star to reteach the gears.

#3 atikovi

atikovi
  • Regular Members
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Suburban Washington DC

Posted 11 December 2009 - 04:20 PM

Check connectors to gear change motor and gear position sensor. Get someone that has Win-star or MB Star to reteach the gears.

I do have an MB Star. I'm unable to do the clutch actuator adjustment teach procedures but I'll post that in a new message. Any way to test the gear position sensor? Thats the same thing they call the turning angle sensor?

#4 mzeeb

mzeeb
  • Regular Members
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, ON

Posted 11 December 2009 - 07:07 PM

I do have an MB Star. I'm unable to do the clutch actuator adjustment teach procedures but I'll post that in a new message. Any way to test the gear position sensor? Thats the same thing they call the turning angle sensor?

Just curious where you got the MB Star software / interface ? :smile_anim:
2005 Passion cabrio: phat red/black tridion, heated black leather seats, locking drawer, pollen filter, cupholder, paddle shift
Mods: euro turn signals, oil pan heater, K&N filter, scan gauge, ignition free windows, remote window switch, tach & clock pods, clear/amber side LED's, flashing side markers, vortex generators, headrest speakers, 4 channel Pioneer head unit, arch extensions front and back, Prosport boost gauge in clock pod, H&R sport springs, wiper arm spray mod, tint, factory cruise control, remap and upgraded intercooler fan.

#5 atikovi

atikovi
  • Regular Members
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Suburban Washington DC

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:47 AM

Just curious where you got the MB Star software / interface ? :smile_anim:

On Ebay. It's a Chinese knock-off.

#6 atikovi

atikovi
  • Regular Members
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Suburban Washington DC

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:58 AM

Had another thought. Can I take the angle sensor off my cdi and put it on this gasser to test it? They have the same part number in the EPC. How hard is it to get too?

#7 tolsen

tolsen
  • Regular Members
  • 1,888 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banchory, Scotland

Posted 12 December 2009 - 07:22 AM

Had another thought. Can I take the angle sensor off my cdi and put it on this gasser to test it? They have the same part number in the EPC. How hard is it to get too?

Jack up rear end LHS. Remove road wheel and inner plastic wheel arch. This is best method as improves access. The gear position sensor is just a simple potentiometer. Easily checked using a multimeter. The Chinese MB Star should be able to teach gear positions if it is worth its salt. Both clutch adjustment and gear postion teaching may not work if there are component or wiring faults.

#8 tolsen

tolsen
  • Regular Members
  • 1,888 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banchory, Scotland

Posted 12 December 2009 - 07:23 AM

Had another thought. Can I take the angle sensor off my cdi and put it on this gasser to test it? They have the same part number in the EPC. How hard is it to get too?

Jack up rear end LHS. Remove road wheel and inner plastic wheel arch. This is best method as improves access. The gear position sensor is just a simple potentiometer. Easily checked using a multimeter. The Chinese MB Star should be able to teach gear positions if it is worth its salt. Both clutch adjustment and gear postion teaching may not work if there are component or wiring faults.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users