Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 01:24 PM) Genius. I never even saw that selection, and have no idea how "items I started" got selected. Thank you!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 01:03 PM) Are any of the things in the left column under the "other" section checked?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 01:02 PM) Got it
@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 01:02 PM) done
@  FlossyTheSmart : (14 April 2015 - 10:05 AM) Definitely send me a screenshot via PM then.
@  Francesco : (14 April 2015 - 08:55 AM) I'm back from Australia, same issue on my laptop. "View New Content" doesn't show any new content. Chrome on Win7
@  KurtMan : (10 April 2015 - 10:00 AM) Thanks for the suggestion but it looks like uncle Glen will be supplying me a used one.
@  turbomar : (09 April 2015 - 08:34 PM) Perhaps you could check with Troy. He may have a good used one??
@  KurtMan : (09 April 2015 - 12:53 PM) Do you have a place in mind to order from? I don't want to pay more than a couple hundred...
@  marchanna : (09 April 2015 - 12:31 PM) Did you try ordering one online. You can probably get next day delivery.
@  KurtMan : (09 April 2015 - 10:16 AM) Does anyone have a parts car in the Ottawa area? I need an intercooler A.S.AP
@  Francesco : (07 April 2015 - 01:32 PM) yeah 3G. There was a long lineup at Vodaphone. Didn't know Optus uses LTE bands my iPad doesn't cover... Vodaphone worked on LTE last time I was here
@  Francesco : (07 April 2015 - 01:30 PM) I won't make you chase this until I get home next week. It has to be related to the hotel wifi portal somehow, at it has worked fine on Optus 3G for a few days until we checked in to this hotel
@  marchanna : (07 April 2015 - 09:43 AM) It would appear so
@  FlossyTheSmart : (07 April 2015 - 09:24 AM) It seems like Francesco is having some different problem than you were
@  marchanna : (07 April 2015 - 08:55 AM) It works fine for me now. Do you still want a screenshot?
@  FlossyTheSmart : (07 April 2015 - 05:10 AM) hmmm... mind sending me a PM with a screenshot if possible?
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:28 PM) Ok cleared cookies, it showed I was logged out and there was a raft of "new content" but when I sign in it still says "Sorry..."
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:25 PM) just for data points, I may have broken cookies or something, I'm in Surfers Paradise on hotel wifi right now
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 11:25 PM) What I'm saying is it *always* tells me "Sorry, no new content found," though if I click the "Forums" tab above it clearly shows new posts
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:59 PM) OK, the behaviour has now been changed. View New Content should now always default to Forum content, no matter what page you click the button from
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:43 AM) I'll leave it as an open question for the day, and will change it when I get home tonight.
@  marchanna : (06 April 2015 - 07:38 AM) I think that what be best unless some one else thinks otherwise.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:37 AM) (Yes I can change it, relatively easily). Do we want the View New Content button to ALWAYS default to showing new Forum content? That probably makes the most sense. The other options would still be there, but you would have to manually select them.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:33 AM) I'll have a look though
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:33 AM) Not sure if I can change that, because usually people want to see the new content for the Forums
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 07:33 AM) Yeah, that's the default behaviour. YOu should then be able to manually change between what type of New Content you are viewing with the options on the left side of the page from there
@  marchanna : (06 April 2015 - 07:05 AM) It appears to show the "new Content" of whatever subcategory you're in. Ie, when I was reading PMs, then click view new content, I got nothing because I was in the Members sub category. But when I clicked Forums, then View New Content, it worked fine for me.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (06 April 2015 - 04:45 AM) When you click "New Content", is the "Content Type" on the left side of the page set to Forums, or something else? If you do Marchanna's trick, it will open to the Forum stuff by default, but I think if you go from the front page, it will use whatever you last selected (intentionally or otherwise)
@  Francesco : (06 April 2015 - 02:56 AM) Yeah, not showing me anything.
@  marchanna : (05 April 2015 - 02:35 PM) I think there's a glitch. Click on forums first (at the left of the page) then click on view new content button
@  Francesco : (05 April 2015 - 01:09 PM) I think "View New Content" is broken, doesn't show me anything anymore.
@  kdubya : (04 April 2015 - 05:13 PM) What is your car doing? Or not doing? lol
@  jimmyjo : (04 April 2015 - 08:51 AM) hey all Edmonton and area smart car owners can anyone suggest the best place in Edmonton area to get a 2005-06 cdi fixed as mine is broke thanks
@  turbomar : (04 April 2015 - 08:47 AM) Yeah, the 450 turn radius isn't freaky at all
@  marchanna : (04 April 2015 - 07:25 AM) Nice. I was kind of disappointed with the turning circle when I first got mine. My old 1995 E320 could turn a tighter circle.
@  Francesco : (04 April 2015 - 05:00 AM) About 10 feet narrower than the 450 and 451. Watch some of the test drive videos. Freaky.
@  marchanna : (04 April 2015 - 04:41 AM) How freaky is it?

Photo

Head gasket replacement - any sealant ?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 shadejo

shadejo
  • Regular Members
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 27 August 2010 - 11:08 AM

Repairing a Smart engine that had cylinder head issues, and I am about to put the head back on.I have the new head gasket, but am wondering if any sealant is required on it? Normally I would have expected not (most engines I have done previously are very specific not to use any sealant) but the old gasket and block surfaces had small traces of a thin clear sealant (looked like very thin RTV or similar) that were present. I cleaned this all off the block and head, but wondered if there is a sealant recommended, as the gasket itself does not appear to have the copper or tin "sealing rings" around the cylinders.Any one with access to the WIS or experience on this able to advise ?Many thanks !John

#2 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 27 August 2010 - 02:17 PM

Hi John,I've asked a smart specialist in UK and I'll forward his reply.Bil :sun:
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#3 fordnut71

fordnut71
  • Regular Members
  • 546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bowmanville,ontario,canada

Posted 27 August 2010 - 05:19 PM

chances are the silcone your seeing is from the gasket itself. most head gaskets now have a silcone in the gasket itself to seal up around cooling jackets.

#4 shadejo

shadejo
  • Regular Members
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 27 August 2010 - 05:59 PM

Hi John, I've asked a smart specialist in UK and I'll forward his reply. Bil :sun:

Thanks Bil ! Fordnut71's reply makes sense, given the very thin nature of what I took off the block but I'll feel better with confirmation from a specialist. Cheers John

#5 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 31 August 2010 - 02:55 AM

OK... heard back from Mike at Smart Car Specialist Ltd www.smartcarspecialist.co.uk who do LOTS of smart engine rebuilds and this is what they use.

We would recommend something like well seal http://shop.ebay.co....4=265031_265051

Throw away gloves after use, do not get it on your skin as it does not come off, apply light film both side of the gasket and smear until it covers the surfaces completely, it does NOT dry, do not get it on anything you want to keep!

Regards
Mike :-)
Smart Car Specialist Ltd
www.smartcarspecialist.co.uk
07738 247 233 Sasho
07760 768 331 Mike
01483 578 748 Unit
Passionate About Smarts

Well Seal:
Developed by Rolls Royce Ltd and manufactured under license, this compound is the complete answer to sealing problems on machined faces.


    [*]withstands temperatures up to 195C (383F)
    [*]Non-flammable
    [*]Easy Partability
    [*]Non-hardening
    [/list]

HTH,
Bil :senile:
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#6 shadejo

shadejo
  • Regular Members
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 02 September 2010 - 02:51 PM

OK... heard back from Mike at Smart Car Specialist Ltd www.smartcarspecialist.co.uk who do LOTS of smart engine rebuilds and this is what they use. HTH, Bil :senile:

Many thanks Bil ! John

Edited by shadejo, 02 September 2010 - 02:51 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users