Jump to content


Photo

Cabin Air Filter


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Tan

Tan
  • Regular Members
  • 98 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted 25 June 2012 - 06:47 AM

The other day, by the looks of it, an air filter fell out onto my feet? Does anyone have any idea if it is the cabin air filter or what it is? Also if it is important or how I can put it back? I looked but can't see where it goes? :o
451 Silver with Black Tridion, Beige Interior

#2 Leadwing

Leadwing

    Current President

  • Directors
  • 2,137 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belmont, Ont.

Posted 25 June 2012 - 07:12 AM

I hope this link helps. Good luck.
You are what you drive

'05 smart pulse "Bruised" (bought used with 94,000kms on it, Sept. 23/09)

'06 smart Passion Cab. "Silverwing" (bought 'gently used' with 4,800 kms on it, Nov. 22/10)

'95 Jeep "winter-beater" (bought used in 1996 with 6,000 kms on it) Sold... June 30/12 with 297,900 kms on it.

'96 Honda Civic, "Dimples", that serves as my wife's bus

'89 Civic "Old Faithful" (bought new in the fall of 1988) Still waiting for the first light bulb to blow. A/C has never been serviced and still chills the cabin area in less than 3 minutes.

and a gaggle of motorcycles including the 35th GoldWing ever made with over 591,000 miles on it. "yeehawww"
.. List of all 15 upon request

#3 LIVINLTL

LIVINLTL
  • Regular Members
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg Manitoba

Posted 25 June 2012 - 07:15 AM

If you look behind the pedals to the right there's a slot with a cover on it for the cabin air filter, open the cover and slide it back in.Hope this helps!

Attached Files



#4 Tan

Tan
  • Regular Members
  • 98 posts
  • Location:Ontario Canada

Posted 25 June 2012 - 08:28 AM

Thank you both so much! It went right back in place - easy when you know what you're doing. ;)
451 Silver with Black Tridion, Beige Interior

#5 Mike T

Mike T

    Ordered our first smart in 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,676 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 25 June 2012 - 11:18 AM

Wow, it's so much easier to change a 451 cabin filter than it is in a 450!
2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet 450 B-remap
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A pkg, Winter pkg.
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection

#6 lebikerboy

lebikerboy
  • Regular Members
  • 1,972 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Vancouver

Posted 25 June 2012 - 12:16 PM

I guess there are some good things about the 451...
[color="#8B0000"]2006 Lite White Pure , X-Gauge and tach, Corelines with Vredestein Quatrac 3 175/195, LED side markers, stubby antenna, embroidered luggage cover, Bosch 3300 filter, M20 spin-on adapter, Motul X-cess 5W-40 , Mann cabin filter, blind spot mirrors, smartmods plastic frame end caps, old style cup holder, K&N E-9257 air filter, Michalak air sucker, chicken head fuel cover badge, 135 dB "Freeway Blaster" horn, EBC redstuff pads/USR rotors, Optima Red Top 34/78 battery, Flying Tiger cdi remap, custom seat covers, 451 Brabus "Euro" softtouch shift knob, Michalak mirror/door covers, custom 450 cdi badges, custom license frames, aluminum pedal covers, 17mm wheel bolts with covers, rear view mirror adapter, LED 3rd brake light, "GT Sport" stainless exhaust, RS stainless valance, Eibach Pro springs, Vortex Generators, Bosch Evolution wipers.

#7 J&J

J&J
  • Regular Members
  • 190 posts
  • Location:Burlington, ON

Posted 23 October 2012 - 03:01 PM

Are there third party cabiin air filters available for the 451 at reasonable cost - and if so where (in Canada).
J & J

2008 passion blue/silver
6.39 l/100km
2009 Limited 3 melon/silver

6.48 l/100km

#8 robm

robm
  • Regular Members
  • 359 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Uxbridge, ON

Posted 24 October 2012 - 12:48 AM

does every 450 have a cabin filter. I have to admit I have never changed mine. I think I will check it this weekend...
2005 black/black pure

#9 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 24 October 2012 - 02:57 AM

Many 450s came without the pollen filter, like my 2005 Pulse. I think it was an option selected by the buyer.B :sun:
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#10 Mike T

Mike T

    Ordered our first smart in 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,676 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 24 October 2012 - 06:29 AM

Yup, $45 factory option and then only on cars with A/C.
2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet 450 B-remap
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A pkg, Winter pkg.
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  SkydiverChris : (26 August 2014 - 02:14 PM) If anyone is headed from the London, ON area to the Ottawa area, I have $100 for anyone who can get a rear window to me.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 09:20 AM) Vote for my picture on us129photos.com HERE so that I can get a free poster!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:24 AM) Cadillacman, good thing you figured it out. That's a pretty weird string to block on...
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:23 AM) I think the SAM and EDG (Presumably the ECU you mean) have to be paired. The SAM stores the key coding
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) I don't know which of the 2 items actually stores the key details
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) What about pairing a used SAM with an existing ECU... is that workable?
@  cadillacman : (26 August 2014 - 08:18 AM) All topics with string '888' were being blocked by a SiteBlock addon ... gads, the perils of avoiding sketchy websites
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:17 AM) Don't think there's a way to disable the immobilizer
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:15 AM) I wonder if there is a way to completely disable the immobilizer function while I'm getting things done. What a pain in the neck.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:14 AM) Oh dear what have I gotten myself in to... hah. Well in another month things should show up. I was just put off by the dealer telling me it was 100% impossible to code a used key to a used ecu :(
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) you just need the electronics work.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) Lol yeah. In your case though, you won't need to spend as much, as you don't actually need new keys or blades
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:11 AM) Looks like I'm in for a fun time. Ouch.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) "If you bought a car with 1 key or some how lost both keys then you are about to agree with me that you're
an idiot." lol
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) He notes under the 451 section that it is impossible to recode a 451 for more keys if you don't have an original. He says this is to prevent someone from walking up, coding a key, then driving your car away, which is apparently possible on the 450 and roadster. You may be in luck
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:09 AM) http://www.evilution...u=info&mod=1026
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:07 AM) According to evilution, it IS possible to code a new key to a 450 WITHOUT having one of the keys that is already coded to the SAM
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:05 AM) Crap.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:04 AM) Not sure if it is possible to recode without an old key coded to the sam, as I think the immobilizer has to be deactivated
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:04 AM) ah, no keys for the old sam.