Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replacing head/tail light bulbs.
Guest_lord_galathon_*
post May 24 2007 - 08:08 AM
Post #1

Guests

Hello, total newb here.

My first question:

Every time my mom burns a lamp on her 2005 Smart ForTwo Pure Cabrio (which is quite often, every other month or so) the local MB dealer charges her over 60$ to change it.

1-shouldn't the light bulbs be under warranty? They were on my 2003 Tiburon and my Wife's 2005 Elantra.
2-60$ to replace a 5$ bulb? dunno.gif

3-can I do it myself or is a special tool required?

Thanks in advance and thanks for welcoming me on your forum.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
mhawel
post May 24 2007 - 08:47 AM
Post #2

Group: Regular Members
Member No.: 278

Even the dealer nearest me, that i don't like, will take you while you wait, and charges only a few bucks more than the bulb costs in Canadian tire. I think the bill was $26 for one. The first time i went to ask for just a bulb it was after my warranty was up, 80 500 km or so, and they didn't even charge me at all...

I do beleive it's up to the dealer wheather or not they will do the bulbs under warranty, and it's probably up to them what they charge as well... I'm sure the dealer near me has someone who can manage to get their arm in there, to avoid taking the whole front end off. The $60 for one bulb kinda makes sense in that it's one half hour labour, and the cost of the bulb (1 hr = $95 around here). To do both at the same time should save you money, cause the labour wouldn't go up any...

Mike

--------------------
My Smart: 2005 Passion Cabrio, Silver/Silver, UPSolute 60HP/105ft.lbs remap, K&N, Wiper Washer mod, Clock and Tach, upgraded J/L Audio & Focal sound system, turn signals moved to headlights, LED sidemarkers with blink function - 101000 km (credit goes to Duck for the Avatar Photo)
4.5 L/100km

My 1990 Volvo 760 Turbo Intercooler - 427 000 km
12 L/100km

My 1993 Volvo 960 I6 - 351 000km
10.5 L/100km

+Quote Post
bilgladstone