Jump to content


Replacing head/tail light bulbs.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_lord_galathon_*

Guest_lord_galathon_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2007 - 08:08 AM

Hello, total newb here. My first question:Every time my mom burns a lamp on her 2005 Smart ForTwo Pure Cabrio (which is quite often, every other month or so) the local MB dealer charges her over 60$ to change it.1-shouldn't the light bulbs be under warranty? They were on my 2003 Tiburon and my Wife's 2005 Elantra.2-60$ to replace a 5$ bulb? :dunno: 3-can I do it myself or is a special tool required?Thanks in advance and thanks for welcoming me on your forum.

#2 mhawel

mhawel
  • Regular Members
  • 123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guelph

Posted 24 May 2007 - 08:47 AM

Even the dealer nearest me, that i don't like, will take you while you wait, and charges only a few bucks more than the bulb costs in Canadian tire. I think the bill was $26 for one. The first time i went to ask for just a bulb it was after my warranty was up, 80 500 km or so, and they didn't even charge me at all...I do beleive it's up to the dealer wheather or not they will do the bulbs under warranty, and it's probably up to them what they charge as well... I'm sure the dealer near me has someone who can manage to get their arm in there, to avoid taking the whole front end off. The $60 for one bulb kinda makes sense in that it's one half hour labour, and the cost of the bulb (1 hr = $95 around here). To do both at the same time should save you money, cause the labour wouldn't go up any...Mike
My Smart: 2005 Passion Cabrio, Silver/Silver, UPSolute 60HP/105ft.lbs remap, K&N, Wiper Washer mod, Clock and Tach, upgraded J/L Audio & Focal sound system, turn signals moved to headlights, LED sidemarkers with blink function - 101000 km (credit goes to Duck for the Avatar Photo)
4.5 L/100km

My 1990 Volvo 760 Turbo Intercooler - 427 000 km
12 L/100km

My 1993 Volvo 960 I6 - 351 000km
10.5 L/100km

#3 bilgladstone

bilgladstone

    This is my smart. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

  • Regular Members
  • 12,116 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kelowna, BC

Posted 24 May 2007 - 09:02 AM

Your mom is getting ripped off.There was a recent smart announcement that headlight bulbs are to be replaced free under warranty during the 20,000km adjustment period. In fact, it may have been longer than that - I don't recall exactly.If the car is past that... mileage... she is still being ripped off. A new bulb can cost around $17 and it takes 10 minutes to replace it yourself once you get the knack. So quickly, that most dealers will sell you a bulb and install it for free while you wait.Additionally, if the bulbs are burning out every couple of months, it is a strong indication that the stealership mechanics are not installing them correctly - most likely touching the glass on the bulbs whilst putting them in.Search the how-tos in here for illustrated instructions and do it for her, cuz!Bil :sun:
Join more than 210 smarties on the map! Where are you? CLICK HERE to add your marker!
::
[

#4 Mike T

Mike T

    Ordered our first smart in 2002!

  • Directors
  • 27,677 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ladysmith, Vancouver Island, BC CDN

Posted 24 May 2007 - 11:36 AM

It's a DIY even for those with moderately large forearms (who are not averse to a little flesh compression). I have burnt out "only" two bulbs in 70,000 km and 30 months.
2006 smart BRABUS Canada 1 cabriolet 450 B-remap
2013 Ford Fiesta SE 5 speed, 203A pkg, Winter pkg.
2008 Mercedes-Benz B 200
1966 Peugeot 404 Coupé Injection

#5 Duck

Duck

    Crazy Quacker

  • Regular Members
  • 9,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted 24 May 2007 - 12:59 PM

I have gone through at least 10 now in 115 000 km of (admitedly hard) driving. This photo might help you with the tricky clip at the back of the bulb:

Posted Image

I'm so good/used to replacing bulbs I just do them in the Canadian Tire parking lot in < 2 minutes... but it's sad I have got that good at it!!

-Iain
2006 smart fortwo cdi Nosedive.... Back up and running!
2010 Toyota Gen3 Prius Normandy (N7) - Hybrid Synergy Drive active!

#6 Guest_lord_galathon_*

Guest_lord_galathon_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 May 2007 - 07:32 AM

Thanks for the prompt answers; So I take it that they're available at Canadian Tire. Are they in the directory they usually keep near the bulbs or are they a specific type?Also the photo you show mr.Duck is taken from outside the car or inside? Basically, being a car with no hood, how does one access the rear of the lamp???Thanks.

#7 ARTZ

ARTZ

    Go Green... stream green!!!

  • Regular Members
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericton, NB

Posted 25 May 2007 - 08:20 AM

To Change the headlights. To change the taillights. These are from Evilution's website from the UK. He has a great number of How-To's on his website. He also posts quite a bit on these fourms.
ARTZ 2006 with Euro Panels and a X-Gauge

#8 I M SMRT

I M SMRT
  • Regular Members
  • 4,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Campbell River, BC

Posted 25 May 2007 - 06:38 PM

The low beam bulbs are H7The high beam bulbs are H1They are standard bulbs. I suggest buying the cheaper ones from CT or even the dealer.....before considering getting "good" bulbs. At least until you decide whether the burn outs are flukes from improper installations or if there is something else burning the bulbs so quickly. Make sure you dont touch the bulbs with bare hands...the oil from your skin will shorten the life.
2006 Grandstyle Fortwo #23/200

O ||||||| O 2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

There are two types of pedestrians in this world. The quick and the dead.

#9 ARTZ

ARTZ

    Go Green... stream green!!!

  • Regular Members
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericton, NB

Posted 26 May 2007 - 11:19 AM

18 months, 40,000km and only one dead low beam light. I replaced both lights with the GE Night Hawks and they work great.
ARTZ 2006 with Euro Panels and a X-Gauge




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Toggle shoutbox Shoutbox - Chat with members! Open the Shoutbox in a popup

@  P0003 : (27 August 2014 - 04:02 PM) =]
@  SkydiverChris : (27 August 2014 - 04:02 PM) Just an update, but it looks like I've found a ride for the window. Thanks everyone!
@  SkydiverChris : (26 August 2014 - 02:14 PM) If anyone is headed from the London, ON area to the Ottawa area, I have $100 for anyone who can get a rear window to me.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 09:20 AM) Vote for my picture on us129photos.com HERE so that I can get a free poster!
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:24 AM) Cadillacman, good thing you figured it out. That's a pretty weird string to block on...
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:23 AM) I think the SAM and EDG (Presumably the ECU you mean) have to be paired. The SAM stores the key coding
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) I don't know which of the 2 items actually stores the key details
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:20 AM) What about pairing a used SAM with an existing ECU... is that workable?
@  cadillacman : (26 August 2014 - 08:18 AM) All topics with string '888' were being blocked by a SiteBlock addon ... gads, the perils of avoiding sketchy websites
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:17 AM) Don't think there's a way to disable the immobilizer
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:15 AM) I wonder if there is a way to completely disable the immobilizer function while I'm getting things done. What a pain in the neck.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:14 AM) Oh dear what have I gotten myself in to... hah. Well in another month things should show up. I was just put off by the dealer telling me it was 100% impossible to code a used key to a used ecu :(
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) you just need the electronics work.
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:12 AM) Lol yeah. In your case though, you won't need to spend as much, as you don't actually need new keys or blades
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:11 AM) Looks like I'm in for a fun time. Ouch.
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) "If you bought a car with 1 key or some how lost both keys then you are about to agree with me that you're
an idiot." lol
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:10 AM) He notes under the 451 section that it is impossible to recode a 451 for more keys if you don't have an original. He says this is to prevent someone from walking up, coding a key, then driving your car away, which is apparently possible on the 450 and roadster. You may be in luck
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:09 AM) http://www.evilution...u=info&mod=1026
@  FlossyTheSmart : (26 August 2014 - 08:07 AM) According to evilution, it IS possible to code a new key to a 450 WITHOUT having one of the keys that is already coded to the SAM
@  P0003 : (26 August 2014 - 08:05 AM) Crap.