Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Towing 4 down
Club smart Car > Smart Car Discussions > General Discussions
fortow
I'm new to both the Smart car and to these forums. We just took delivery of our 2008 Passion model (Canadian) on August 15.

It was purchased for the intention of towing behind our motorhome, in addition to being a "cute" and economical car for everyday transportation, naturally.

My question is - we need to install a tow bar and for that there needs to be a base bracket installed on the Smart car. Has anyone done this already, and if so did they do it themselves? Any insight into the brand of towbar/base plate and any pitfalls related to the installation would be most appreciated.

For those who don't alread know, the 2008 model has been redesigned to permit 4 wheel down towing. I suspect that this will make it even more popular as the size and weight make for an almost perfect "dinghy" to be towed - in my opinion at least. smile.gif
Dave777
Blue ox is one dealer, at least in the USA. http://www.blueox.us/baseplates.cfm?mfg=ME...p;submit=Search

I can't find a specific discussion of it on this forum, but the smartcarofamerica forum has multiple discussions. http://www.smartcarofamerica.com/forums/ Use their "search" function and search for "flat tow" or "blue ox."

I know one of the issues has been having the steering wheel go lock to lock during tight turns while being towed, and I think the solution has been to use bungee cords on the wheel, but I really don't follow those discussions very closely.
Wayne
Smart Car Universe has recently started selling a trailer for towing a smart, if you wanted to go a different way.

Wayne.
Mike T
That would be my advice too, as the drivetrain will age prematurely with all four down.
SmartieParts
This is the one from SCU: http://smartcaruniverse.com/trailers/motorhometrailer.php
smartzuuk