Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mkt

In other news, an update on my thoughts of moving to Canada

45 posts in this topic

^^:)Those of you that have known me know that I've been pondering for a few years the idea of immigrating to Canada. A chance to continue my restart in a country more aligned with my sentiments while remaining close enough to the US should I need to return to visit friends/family/etc. And not having to learn much of a new language ;)... what a dream come.Well, I just retook the immigration point test, and right now I stand at 71/100 points, with 67 being the minimum threshold for consideration. My previous attempts came in at anywhere from 57-68 pts, so this is a step in the right direction.I've decided to reapply in one-two years after completing my masters degree (+5 points), work experience (+1 point), improving my français (+2 points), and possibly a job offer (+10 points)To those americans that have pondered this (especially those that have succeeded), any suggestions, ideas, etc? At this point it isn't about getting out of George W. Bush-land. It's about trying for a better life in what I feel to be a more suitable country for me.

What are these "points"? Is it like some kind of test?Being on the inside I'm completely oblivious to what people have to do to get here.-Iain

here's a link to the test:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/ski...ssess/index.asp

my scores are:

Education 20/25 (I only have a bachelors deg)

Language Ability 22/24 (wow)

Work Experience 19/21 (not bad)

Age 10/10 (woohoo! I'm desirable:D )

Arranged Employment 0/10 (d'oh!)

Adaptability 0/10 (wtf?!?!!)

Total Score 71/100

my other options are to immigrate for a PH.D or other masters deg... or marry a nice wholesome (or completely dirty) canadian girl

If I did not already live here I would not be coming here.

It appers I am undesirable to the govt. :sniffle:

Wait that may be a good thing